Tas­man golfers in en­cour­ag­ing form

Nelson Mail - - SPORT - WAYNE MARTIN

Tas­man have con­tin­ued their en­cour­ag­ing build up to next month’s Toro tour­na­ment af­ter fin­ish­ing sec­ond at the South Is­land men’s in­ter­provin­cial golf tour­na­ment in In­ver­cargill at the week­end.

Tas­man ended the two-day tour­na­ment at Otatara with wins over Ao­rangi and South­land and a half with Otago, their only hic­cup be­ing a heavy 7-1 loss to over­all win­ners Can­ter­bury.

Play­ing at No 7, Kam Clarke won three of his four matches al­though No 5, Rarangi’s Dale Rut­ledge, was the only mem­ber of Tas­man’s eight-man team to emerge un­beaten, fin­ish­ing with two wins and two halves.

Rut­ledge had opened with a con­vinc­ing 6/5 win over Kevin Tea­hen in Tas­man’s com­fort­able 6-2 win over Ao­rangi, then fol­lowed that up with a 1up win over Tyler McLean in South­land’s 5.5-2.5 win over host team South­land.

Rut­ledge com­pleted his in­di­vid­ual cam­paign with halves against Otago’s Duncan Croudis and Can­ter­bury’s Kazuma Ko­bori. Tas­man drew 4-4 with Otago but lost 7-1 to Can­ter­bury.

Clarke recorded wins over Ao­rangi’s Jeremy Duck­man­ton (3/1), South­land’s Liam He­witt (3/1) and Otago’s Inia Lo­gan (3/2) but lost to Can­ter­bury’s Richard Reed 5/4.

An­drew Drum­mond, Con­nor Win­ter and Nick Thom­sen each fin­ished with two wins.

Can­ter­bury had three wins and half, against Otago, to fin­ish first on 3.5 points (24.5 games), with Tas­man sec­ond on 2.5 (16.5). Otago were third on 2 points (19) just two games clear of fourth-placed South­land. Ao­rangi lost all four matches.

This year’s Toro men’s in­ter­provin­cial will be played at North­land’s Man­gawhai Golf Club start­ing on De­cem­ber 5.

Mean­while, Tas­man fin­ished a cred­itable third equal with Waikato at last week­end’s Frey­berg Mas­ters men’s in­ter­provin­cial tour­na­ment at the Whit­ford Park Golf Club in Auck­land.

Tas­man and Waikato both fin­ished with five points and 22.5 in­di­vid­ual wins from the week­long tour­na­ment. Auck­land com­pleted back to back ti­tles with a con­vinc­ing 4-1 win over a strong Welling­ton side to claim their 12th ti­tle in the event’s 32-year his­tory which dates back to 1986.

Tas­man beat Otago 4-1, Poverty Bay-East Coast 31⁄ 11⁄ North Har­bour 3-2, Taranaki 4-1 and Can­ter­bury 3-2 but lost to North­land 4-1, Auck­land 3-2 and Hawke’s Bay 3-2.


Tas­man’s Dale Rut­ledge fin­ished un­beaten in In­ver­cargill.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.