WRC con­firms seats

South Waikato News - - NEWS -

Waikato vot­ers will elect 14 re­gional coun­cil­lors from six gen­eral and two Maori con­stituen­cies at the 2013 lo­cal body elec­tions, fol­low­ing Waikato Re­gional Coun­cil’s re­view of its rep­re­sen­ta­tion ar­range­ments.

The Lo­cal Elec­toral Act re­quires coun­cils to re­view how many coun­cil­lors they have and how they rep­re­sent their com­mu­ni­ties at least ev­ery six years.

The north­ern Maori seat cov­er­ing Hamil­ton city and Waikato dis­trict will be called Nga Hau e Wha ( the four winds) while the Maori seat cov­er­ing Thames-Coro­man­del, Hau­raki, Mata­mata- Pi­ako, Waipa, Otoro­hanga, Wait­omo, South Waikato and parts of Taupo and Ro­torua dis­tricts will be called Nga Tai ki Uta (from coastal to in­land).

Waikato Re­gional Coun­cil’s Karen Bennett said any­one can stand for the two Maori seats on Waikato Re­gional Coun­cil, but they must be a New Zealand ci­ti­zen and their name must be on the par­lia­men­tary elec­toral roll.

‘‘ Any­one in­ter­ested in stand­ing in the Nga Tai ki Uta (which in­cludes the South Waikato) con­stituency will need to have two peo­ple from that con­stituency nom­i­nate them. The two nom­i­na­tors must live in the Nga Tai ki Uta con­stituency, even though the can­di­date does not need to live in the con­stituency.’’

Nom­i­na­tors must be on the Par­lia­men­tary Elec­toral Roll.

Nom­i­na­tions open in mid2013. De­tails will be made avail­able at that time.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.