Fi­nal­ists for lit­er­ary awards an­nounced

Stratford Press - - News -

Fi­nal­ists for the 2018 Ron­ald Hugh Mor­rieson Lit­er­ary Awards have just been re­leased.

Awards or­gan­iser and South Taranaki District Coun­cil’s chil­dren and young adults li­brar­ian, Pam Jones, says that once again, in the 31st year of the awards, en­tries con­tin­ued to grow.

“This shows/proves the value of keep­ing a lo­cal com­pe­ti­tion like this alive,” says Pam.

“A large pro­por­tion of en­trants have never en­tered the com­pe­ti­tion be­fore so new writ­ers con­tinue to emerge. This brings fresh views and voices to the rich col­lec­tion of lo­cal sto­ries about life in our com­mu­nity, from peo­ple liv­ing within that com­mu­nity.”

“It’s ex­cit­ing to see more and more Taranaki peo­ple tak­ing a re­spite from their fast-paced and stress­ful world to set their imag­i­na­tion free to cre­ate lo­cal sto­ries that both en­ter­tain and ed­u­cate us,” she says.

“We are richer for hear­ing these sto­ries. Our com­mu­nity is richer for gath­er­ing these sto­ries”

One of the cat­e­gories that took the big­gest jump was the re­search ar­ti­cle with 23 en­tries, com­pared to 7 in 2017.

Judge Matt Rilkoff says he wasn’t sur­prised by the jump in in­ter­est, as the sub­ject was one that all young peo­ple could re­late to, to dis­cuss the ways small town New Zealand has changed due to tech­nol­ogy.

“This year’s ar­ti­cles cov­ered all man­ner of is­sues to do with tech­nol­ogy, from the doc­tors treat­ing Pa¯ tea pa­tients over the in­ter­net, to whether cell phones are good or bad (the jury is out) to how farm­ing has been changed by ad­vances in tech,” he says. “The ar­ti­cles demon­strated a deep un­der­stand­ing of how tech­nol­ogy is chang­ing lives and, against the teen technophile stereo­type, a scep­ti­cism of how good it is for hu­man­ity.“

The fi­nal­ists are:

■ Maria Cun­ning­ham — New Ply­mouth

■ Alyx Devlin (Eltham)

■ Bruce Finer (Ha¯ wera)

■ Sasha Finer (Ha¯ wera High School)

■ Stu­art Green­hill (Strat­ford)

■ Maia-Lane Ru­pa­pera Maeke (St Mary’s Dioce­san School)

■ Lexi McQuaig (O¯ pu¯ nake High School)

■ Alex Paish (St Mary’s Dioce­san School)

■ Darly Paraha (Ha¯ wera)

■ Chris Pur­don (Ha¯ wera)

■ Monique Rad­ford (St Mary’s Dioce­san School)

■ Holly Stew­art (Ha¯ wera)

■ Michaela Stone­man (Pa¯ tea)

■ Ev­ery­one is in­vited to at­tend the Awards Cer­e­mony at the TSB Hub, Waih¯ı Road, 7pm on Wed­nes­day 24 Oc­to­ber, where the judges will com­ment on their re­spec­tive cat­e­gories and high­light the works that won them over.

RSVP with num­bers at­tend­ing to con­ by Mon­day Oc­to­ber 22.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.