Cab­i­net: Se­nate gets 15 more nom­i­nees

Amaechi, Amina scale through first hur­dle

Daily Trust - - FRONT PAGE - By Is­mail Mu­dashir

Pres­i­dent Muham­madu Buhari yesterday sub­mit­ted the sec­ond batch of min­is­te­rial nom­i­nees to Se­nate Pres­i­dent Bukola Saraki.

The Pres­i­dent on Novem­ber 30 first sub­mit­ted 21 nom­i­nees whose con­fir­ma­tion hear­ing will open this morn­ing at the Se­nate.

The list of the nom­i­nees was sub­mit­ted by Chief of staff to the Pres­i­dent Al­haji Abba Kyari at about 4.30pm yesterday.

He was ac­com­pa­nied by Na­tional Assem­bly Li­ai­son of­fi­cers - Sen­a­tor Ita Enang (Se­nate) and Al­haji Ab­dul­rah­man Kawu Su­maila (House of Rep­re­sen­ta­tives).

Spe­cial Ad­viser on Media and Pub­lic­ity to Saraki, Mr Yusuph Olaniy­onu con­firmed the sub­mis­sion of the list.

How­ever, he said Se­nate Pres­i­dent Bukola Saraki would not re­veal the names of the nom­i­nees un­til at ple­nary to­day.

Daily Trust heard last night that some of the names said to be on the latest list in­clude Prof Isaac Ade­wole, Vice Chan­cel­lor of Univer­sity of Ibadan; James Ocholi (SAN), a for­mer gov­er­nor­ship as­pi­rant in Kogi state; Heineken Lokpo­biri, a for­mer Sen­a­tor; Bri­gadier Mah­mud Mansur Dan Ali (rtd); Okechukwu Enelamah, MD, African Cap­i­tal Al­liance; Prof An­thony An­wuka, for­mer SSG of Imo State; Claudis Omol­eye Daramola and Aisha Abubakar. The names could not be in­de­pen­dently con­firmed as at the time of fil­ing this re­port.

Mean­while, for­mer gover­nor of Rivers state Ro­timi Amaechi and the Spe­cial Ad­viser to UN Sec­re­tary Gen­eral on Sus­tain­able De­vel­op­ment Goals (SDGs), Ha­jiya Amina Ibrahim Mo­hammed yesterday scaled through their first hur­dle.

They ap­peared be­fore the Se­nate Com­mit­tee on Ethics, Priv­i­leges and Public Pe­ti­tions over pe­ti­tions writ­ten against their nom­i­na­tion.

Last week Sen­a­tor Ge­orge Thompson Sek­ibo (PDP, Rivers East) and Sen­a­tor Dan­juma La'ah (PDP, Kaduna South) pre­sented pe­ti­tions against Amaechi and Mrs Mo­hammed re­spec­tively.

The pe­ti­tions were re­ferred to the Ethics com­mit­tee but dur­ing the sit­ting of the com­mit­tee yesterday, the two nom­i­nees were cleared.

Speak­ing at the sit­ting of the com­mit­tee, Mrs Mo­hammed said she is an in­di­gene of Gombe and not Kaduna state.

“I’m an in­di­gene of Gombe state; the whole thing is ex­tremely strange to me. But for Kaduna, I was brought up there, I schooled there and my fa­ther who was a Fed­eral civil ser­vant lived there. I have no con­nec­tion with Kaduna State. There is no dis­pute about my state of ori­gin," she said.

Asked whether she knows where she would be rep­re­sent­ing at the Fed­eral cab­i­net, she said, “I will as­sume that my ap­point­ment is rep­re­sent­ing Gombe state be­cause I'm an in­di­gene of Gombe state".

When he ap­peared be­fore the com­mit­tee, the pe­ti­tioner, Bar­ris­ter James Kanyip said he wrote the pe­ti­tion against Mrs Mo­hammed based on a re­port he read on the so­cial media.

Chair­man of the com­mit­tee, Sa­muel Anyanwu said they had es­tab­lished the fact that Mrs Mo­hammed was not from Kaduna.

Also com­ment­ing on the pe­ti­tion against Amaechi, Anyanwu said the mat­ter could not be en­ter­tained any longer be­cause it was be­fore a court.

Anyanwu had asked Amaechi who ap­peared be­fore the com­mit­tee whether there was a pend­ing le­gal mat­ter on the is­sue, Amaechi an­swered in af­fir­ma­tive.

“If the is­sue is al­ready pend­ing in the court, it is in our stand­ing rules that any mat­ter in Court should not be en­ter­tained.

“We will not en­ter­tain it be­cause it will amount to sub­ju­dice. We will not want to run fowl of the law, we hereby sus­pend the pe­ti­tion," he said.

Re­spond­ing, Amaechi said," When I was in­vited, I know jus­tice will be done by the com­mit­tee ".

The Pres­i­dent had nom­i­nated 21 min­is­ters as fol­lows.

1.Dr. Chris Ngige (Anam­bra); 2. Kay­ode Fayemi (Ek­iti); 3. Ro­timi Amaechi (Rivers); 4. Ba­batunde Fashola (La­gos); 5. Ab­dur­rah­man Dam­bazau (rtd) (Kano); 6. Aisha Al­Has­san (Taraba); 7. Og­bonaya Onu (Abia); 8. Kemi Adeo­sun (Ogun); 9. Abubakar Malami SAN (Kebbi); 10. Sen­a­tor Sirika Hadi (Katsina); 11. Bar­ris­ter Ade­bayo Shittu (Oyo); 12. Su­laiman Adamu (Ji­gawa); 13. Solomon Da­long (Plateau); 14.Ibe Kachikwu (Delta); 15. Osagie Ehanire (Edo; 17. Udoma Udo-Udoma (Akwa Ibom); 18. Ahmed Musa Ibeto (Niger); 19. Ibrahim Us­man Jib­ril (Nasarawa); 20. Audu Og­beh (Benue); 21. Amina Mo­hammed (Gombe)

States whose nom­i­nees will be an­nounced this morn­ing are: Adamawa, Borno, Yobe, Bauchi, Kaduna, Zam­fara, Kogi, Osun, Ondo; Enugu, Imo, Abia, Cross Rivers and Bayelsa states.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria

© PressReader. All rights reserved.