En­try for Daily Trust African of the Year closes to­mor­row

Sunday Trust - - NEWS - By Ab­dul­la­teef Salau

Nom­i­na­tions of can­di­dates for the cov­eted Daily Trust African of the Year 2017 award will end to­mor­row, Novem­ber 6.

A valid en­try for the award is for hu­man­i­tar­ian works, events or ac­tiv­i­ties un­der­taken by the nom­i­nees within one year, from Oc­to­ber 1, 2016 to Septem­ber 30, 2017.

The nom­i­na­tions are to be made on­line at www.award. dai­lytrust.com .

The win­ner will be se­lected by a seven-mem­ber prize com­mit­tee chaired by Mr Fes­tus Mo­gae, a for­mer pres­i­dent of Botswana and past win­ner of the Mo Ibrahim Prize for Lead­er­ship.

Other mem­bers of the jury who rep­re­sent Africa’s sub re­gional blocs are: Am­bas­sador Mona Omar (North Africa), Mr Amadou Mahtar Ba (West Africa), Ms. Gwen Lis­ter (South­ern Africa), Mr Pas­cal Kam­bale (Cen­tral Africa) and Pro­fes­sor Sylvia Ta­male (East Africa). The Chair­man of the Board of Daily Trust, Mr Kabiru Yusuf rep­re­sents the award pro­mot­ers.

Now in its 8th edi­tion, the award was in­au­gu­rated in 2008 by Daily Trust, Nige­ria’s fore­most in­de­pen­dent news­pa­per, in ful­fil­ment of its com­mit­ment to African unity and sus­tain­able de­vel­op­ment across the con­ti­nent.

The award project en­joys the sup­port of UBA Plc, Africa’s global bank, which gives US$50,000 an­nu­ally since 2008.

The maiden award in 2008 was pre­sented to a Con­golese gy­nae­col­o­gist, Dr De­nis Muk­wege, in recog­ni­tion of his ex­em­plary hu­man­i­tar­ian of­fer of free re­con­struc­tive surgery to vic­tims of rape in the war-torn Demo­cratic Repub­lic of Congo, (DRC).

Dr Muk­wege had been short­listed twice for the No­bel Prize and in 2014, he won the Sakharov prize for free­dom of thought, Euro­pean Par­lia­ment top­most hu­man rights award, among other lau­rels.

Sub­se­quent awards have been won by the late Dr Ta­judeen Ab­dul­ra­heem (2009), Mr Danny Jor­dan (2010), Judge Mrs Fa­ti­mata Baz­eye (2011), Mr Thabo Mbeki (2012) and Dr Don­ald Kaberuka (2013).

The 2014 and 2016 awards were skipped ow­ing to the preva­lence of Ebola dis­ease in parts of Africa and ex­cep­tional chal­lenges of fund­ing re­spec­tively, while Mr Gre­goire Ahong­bonon emerged win­ner of the 2015 award.

Some of the dis­tin­guished per­son­al­i­ties who had served on the Prize Com­mit­tee are Dr Salim Ahmed Salim as pioneer chair, Prof Ab­doulaye Bathily, Prof Tan­deka Nki­wane and Ms Muthoni Wanyeki. Oth­ers are Prof Okello Oculi, Dr Oba­diah Mailafia, Prof Kwame Karikari, and the late Dr Ta­judeen Ab­dul­ra­heem.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Nigeria

© PressReader. All rights reserved.