Un­fol­low every­one to break your Face­book ad­dic­tion

HWM (Singapore) - - Feature -

This method won’t stop Face­book from track­ing you. But it can help you break your ad­dic­tion to Face­book. Un­fol­low­ing every­one turns your News Feed into a blank page. Without any­thing to see, the urge to check Face­book wanes.

1. UN­FOL­LOW WITH A LOT OF CLICK­ING

Face­book doesn’t make it easy to un­fol­low every­one. Be warned, there is a lot of click­ing to fol­low. In Face­book on the desk­top, click on the drop-down menu on the up­per right, and then chose ‘News Feed Pref­er­ences.’

On the pop-up win­dow that fol­lows, click on Un­fol­low peo­ple to hide their posts. Then click on each one of the friends, pages, and groups you’re fol­low­ing to un­fol­low them.

This takes a while. Face­book doesn’t show you ev­ery­thing you’re fol­low­ing on a sin­gle load. After nish­ing a batch, click out of the menu, and click back in again to con­tinue un­fol­low­ing.

2. CHECK TO SEE YOU’RE FI­NALLY DONE

You’re done when you use the drop-down menu in the un­fol­low box, se­lect ‘Friends only,’ ‘Pages only,’ ‘Groups only,’ and nd that noth­ing shows up in any of the op­tions.

3. FACE­BOOK MAY STILL BE SHOW­ING YOU POSTS

Your news feed may still be show­ing you posts after step 2. If so, go back to the mo­dal win­dow in step 1, se­lect ‘Pri­or­i­tize who to see rst,’ and un­fol­low every­one there.

4. REACH ‘NEWS FEED ZERO’

That was when you’ll reach ‘News Feed Zero.’ Your news feed will no longer show posts from any­one. The only things it’ll show from then on are you're your most re­cent posts, and your ‘Face­book mem­o­ries.’

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Singapore

© PressReader. All rights reserved.