SA mu­sic stars in line for MTV awards


TWO of South Africa’s big­gest young stars are hop­ing to walk away vic­to­ri­ous from the MTV Europe Mu­sic Awards tonight.

The awards will take place at Lon­don’s SSE Arena and this will be the sixth time the Bri­tish cap­i­tal plays host.

Dur­ban-born rap­per Nasty C and the Gqom sen­sa­tion, Babes Wo­dumo, are among the nom­i­nees for their suc­cess­ful de­but projects, which in­clude hits such as Hell Naw and Wololo.

They are nom­i­nated among con­ti­nen­tal heavy­weights such as Nige­ria’s Wizkid and Davido, as well as An­gola’s C4 Pe­dro and Kenya’s Nyan­shin­ski in the best African cat­e­gory.

The show will be hosted by singer and ac­tress Rita Ora, who will also be per­form­ing.

“I’m so ex­cited to be host­ing this year’s MTV awards in my home­town,” said Ora.

Nasty C, whose real name is David Ng­cobo Jr, who was also nom­i­nated at the BET Awards ear­lier this year, said he was hon­oured to be in the mix again.

“I’m ex­tremely hon­oured and hum­bled by it. It re­ally means a lot to see that my work is be­ing recog­nised across the world,” he said.

“The MTV Europe Mu­sic Awards are a global plat­form and be­ing nom­i­nated along­side some of the world’s great­est African artists re­ally means a lot to me.”

An­gola’s C4 Pe­dro said the nom­i­na­tion was sig­nif­i­cant for him as Nige­ri­ans and South Africans ap­peared to dom­i­nate the awards.

“It feels great. As a Lu­so­phone (Por­tuguese-speak­ing) singer I just want ev­ery­one to know how big and strong we are,” he said.

“Artists from An­gola have been nom­i­nated since 2005 and have never won. We feel like only Nige­ri­ans and South Africans can win this award, but I’m telling you change is go­ing to come one day and I hope that time is now.”

On the in­ter­na­tional front, Tay­lor Swift leads the pack, nab­bing six nods, in­clud­ing best video for Look What You Made Me Do. Shawn Men­des re­ceived five nom­i­na­tions, in­clud­ing best song and best artist. Other nom­i­nees in­clude Ken­drick La­mar, Ed Sheeran, Ari­ana Grande, Demi Lo­vato and Bruno Mars.

Per­form­ers for the night will in­clude Liam Payne, French Mon­tana, Ke­sha, Travis Scott and The Killers.

The 2017 MTV Europe Mu­sic Awards will be broad­cast live on MTV (Dstv chan­nel 130) and MTV Base (Dstv chan­nel 322) on Sun­day, 12 Novem­ber at 22:00 CAT.

Fol­low @Iol_lifestyle on Twit­ter for live up­dates from the red car­pet and arena.

South Africa’s Nasty C is among the nom­i­nees in tonight’s MTV Europe Mu­sic Awards in Lon­don.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.