SA call-ups just re­ward for Mo­erat and his boys

Weekend Argus (Saturday Edition) - - LIFE - MIKE DE BRUYN

WEST­ERN PROV­INCE, the un­of­fi­cial Craven Week cham­pi­ons for the sec­ond year run­ning, make up the ma­jor­ity of the 2016 SA Schools squad.

Thir­teen WP play­ers (five backs, eight for­wards) have been selected in a 26- man squad to face Un­der-18 sides from Eng­land, Wales, France and Italy, as well as an SA A side, in Cape Town and Paarl from Au­gust 12-20.

WP cap­tain and lock Sal­maan Mo­erat, cen­tre Manuel Rass, fly­half Damian Willemse and loose for­ward Khanya Ncu­sane re­tain their places. Team­mates Mike Mavo­vana, Muller du Plessis, Gianni Lom­bard, Reece Bezuiden­hout, BenJa­son Dixon, Daniel Jooste, Jo­han Neeth­ling, Charl Ser­dyn and Muller Uys join them in the SA Schools squad.

Mo­erat is not afraid to take the fight to the op­po­si­tion, while he also con­tests well in the li­ne­outs. Willemse is a classy No 10 whose aware­ness is out of the top drawer. Rass has pace to burn and an eye for the gap, along with Mavo­vana and Du Plessis.

“The fact that 13 of our boys gained SA Schools se­lec­tion is just re­ward for their ef­forts,” un­beaten WP coach Elmo Wol­faardt said. SA Schools squad: Emilio Ado­nis (Blue Bulls), Reece Bezuiden­hout (WP), PJ Botha (Golden Lions), Ruan de Swardt (Blue Bulls), Ben-Ja­son Dixon (WP), Muller du Plessis (WP), Rich­man Gora (Grif­fons), Daniel Jooste (WP), Re­wan Kruger (Free State), Gianni Lom­bard (WP), Kh­wezi Mafu (EP), Mike Mavo­vana (WP), Nathan McBeth (Lions), Sal­maan Mo­erat (cap­tain, WP), Jo­han Neeth­ling (WP), Sihle Njezula (EP), JC Pre­to­rius (Pu­mas), Rikus Pre­to­rius (Free State), Manuel Rass (WP), Sazi Sandi (EP), Charl Ser­dyn (WP), Wan­dis­ile Sime­lane (Golden Lions), PJ Steenkamp (Bulls), Muller Uys (WP), Damian Willemse (WP), Khanya Ncu­sane (WP). SA A squad: Zine­dine Booy­sen (SWD Eagles), Austin Davids (Bulls), Luba­balo Do­bela (EP), Cabous Eloff Prop (Bulls), Schalk Eras­mus (Bulls), Kea­gan Glade (Lions), Ty­rone Green (Lions), Gugu Ne­lani (Sharks), Christo­pher Havenga (Lions), Janco van Heynin­gen (Free State), Cameron Hufke (Gri­quas), Jessie John­son (WP), Athi Mag­wala (WP), Tadendaishe Mu­jawo (Lions), Sanele No­hamba (Sharks), Ayabonga Oliphant (EP), Ryno Pi­eterse (Bulls), Dy­lan Richard­son (Sharks), Dian Schoonees (Free State), Mor­nay Smith (Bulls), Mark Sny­man (Lions), Sicelo Tole (EP), Louritz van der Schyff (cap­tain, Bulls), Ab­ner van Ree­nen (Bulls), Jaco van Ton­der (Free State), Juan van der Mescht (Sharks).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.