Dom­i­nant Smith takes Trucks clean sweep



Reign­ing cham­pion Ryan Smith con­tin­ued his dom­i­na­tion of the BTRA Bri­tish Truck Rac­ing Cham­pi­onship by claim­ing all four Di­vi­sion 1 race vic­to­ries at Thrux­ton.

In the opener Smith led all the way from pole to win by five sec­onds, while in the other three races – all with re­versed grids – he was able to move into first by mid-dis­tance to win com­fort­ably.

“It’s tac­ti­cal this week­end be­cause at Thrux­ton the as­phalt’s re­ally dif­fi­cult,” said Smith. “It’s about man­ag­ing tyres – push hard at the be­gin­ning, mid-race have a rest, push on at the end.

“No dam­age on the truck; it’s home safe.” Steve Pow­ell won two of the four races in Di­vi­sion 2, claim­ing the first un­der pres­sure from cham­pi­onship leader Luke Gar­rett. The re­versed-grid race two was won by

Brad Smith, who rose from sixth on the grid to lead by lap three, and re­sisted pres­sure from Si­mon Cole late on.

Gar­rett claimed the race-three win as Pow­ell fell to sec­ond-last af­ter los­ing speed when a gear didn’t split prop­erly. Pow­ell stayed there to en­sure a front-row start for the fi­nal race, and con­verted that chance to take his sec­ond win of the week­end.

Reign­ing cham­pion Scott Bourne pipped points leader Lea Wood to vic­tory in both Pickup Trucks Rac­ing Cham­pi­onship races.

Ben Palmer main­tained his clean sweep of

the Miche­lin Clio Cup, but only just. In race one, Palmer re­sisted race-long at­ten­tions from Si­mon Free­man and Tyler Lid­sey, then in race two held off Lid­sey again.

The Mighty Mini races were multi-car slip­stream­ing bat­tles. The first was won by Greg Jenk­ins in the Super Mighty Mini class just ahead of David Kirk­patrick and Alex Comis, the top three able to break away from the chas­ing pack late on when Tony Clar­ing­bould and Jim Carolan spun at the chi­cane and re­joined in the lead­ers’ path. Kirk­patrick turned the ta­bles in race two, pip­ping Jenk­ins to win by two tenths.

Lee Pool­man took the Mighty Mini race-one class hon­ours af­ter a sim­i­larly tight bat­tle, beat­ing his ti­tle ri­val Stu­art Combes. Race two was a re­verse of the first race, as Combes won a race-long fight with Pool­man.

The Cater­ham Grad­u­ates races were also bunched slip­stream­ers, and Sa­muel Wil­son took his first win of the sea­son in the Sig­max opener. He led most of the way and just beat Jamie Ell­wood, end­ing Ell­wood’s run of three vic­to­ries. Reign­ing Sig­max cham­pion Oliver Gib­son won race two.

De­clan Dolan con­tin­ued his 100% record in the first Cater­ham Mega/sigma/clas­sic race. Si­mon Grif­fiths was first over the line but rel­e­gated to sec­ond be­hind Dolan for cut­ting the chi­cane when tak­ing the lead on the last lap. Grif­fiths was able to end Dolan’s run in race two by beat­ing him to the flag with­out trans­gress­ing.

Class A1 ta­ble-leader Colin Wells even­tu­ally won both Kumho BMW Cham­pi­onship races com­fort­ably. He took the first af­ter pole­man Gar­rie Whit­taker re­tired with a throt­tle prob­lem on lap two. Wells then won race two af­ter pass­ing early leader Piers Reid at one-third dis­tance, be­fore Reid re­tired shortly af­ter­wards with a fuel-pres­sure prob­lem.

The two MGOC Cham­pi­onship races had a de­gree of sym­me­try – Dean Sul­li­van (ZR 160) beat the MGF of Si­mon Ken­drick in race one af­ter a long bat­tle, while Ken­drick took race two by over 10s from Sul­li­van.

Smith has taken 14 wins from 18 races so far in 2018

Wil­son claimed his first win of the sea­son

Jenk­ins (70) headed colour­ful Mighty Mini pack

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.