Lock se­cures maiden pro­to­type suc­cess



In the ab­sence of Lee Tor­rie, Richard Sta­bles could have taken the Bike­sports Class A cham­pi­onship with two class wins at Snet­ter­ton. But he fin­ished a dis­tant se­cond in class in race one to Joe Lock, who took his first pro­to­type win (both in class and over­all) in dom­i­nant fash­ion.

“I just tried to get as big a gap as I could at the start and then de­fend – and luck­ily I didn’t re­ally have to de­fend!” said Lock.

“It’s a big step for me; it’s go­ing to be a good step­ping stone for ev­ery other re­sult I can get next year.”

Sta­bles’ son Joe had al­ready guar­an­teed the over­all and Class B ti­tles but sat out race one af­ter crash­ing at Co­ram on the first lap of qual­i­fy­ing. Sta­bles Sr let him take over his car for race two, now in teem­ing rain. Plenty of cars, in­clud­ing Lock’s, left the track, and the race was even­tu­ally stopped when Richard Hardie went off at Riches. Aaron Bai­ley was lead­ing at the time, with Sta­bles run­ning se­cond.

“[It was my] first week­end of ac­tu­ally go­ing off and hit­ting the wall,” Sta­bles Jr said of his qual­i­fy­ing shunt. “Luck­ily it was the end of the sea­son and I’ve al­ready won the cham­pi­onship, so I’m not too both­ered apart from the dam­age. My dad didn’t want to go out in the wet so he thought he’d give me a shot.”

Ben Rush­worth in ef­fect had his Hot Hatch Class A ti­tle con­firmed in ad­vance when Alis­tair Camp en­tered a Class B ma­chine. That meant Rush­worth was al­most cer­tain to score enough points to keep him ahead of Steve Saw­ley.

The drive­shaft on Rush­worth’s Honda In­te­gra failed on the first lap of qual­i­fy­ing but, start­ing the race from the back in sod­den con­di­tions, he snatched the lead within two laps and main­tained it. Class C’s Michael Winkworth se­cured the over­all ti­tle with a class win, while Ro­dren Vella clinched the Class B cham­pi­onship. Rush­worth also won the dry race two the fol­low­ing day.

Lee Scott in his Ford Fi­esta set­tled the three-way Clas­sic Stock Hatch cham­pi­onship bat­tle in his favour by win­ning a fren­zied race one ahead of ti­tle ri­val Matt Rozier’s Peu­geot 205. It was also Scott’s first win of the sea­son. The third ti­tle con­tender, Mar­cus Ward, had an event­ful run to sixth, but con­soled him­self by hold­ing off Rozier for vic­tory in race two.

Shaun Traynor only needed to fol­low ri­val Ben Rowe home in both races for the MR2 ti­tle but beat him in both. He won race one while Rowe – strug­gling with mea­gre rear brake pads – was pe­nalised post-race for con­tact, drop­ping from third to sixth. Then Traynor passed Rowe on race two’s fi­nal lap to fin­ish se­cond be­hind Paul Cook.

Ben Short had a tri­umphant MX-5 Cup re­turn with three wins, the first in the wet and the fi­nal af­ter start­ing sev­enth on a re­versed grid. Paul Maguire se­cured the over­all cham­pi­onship.

Matthew Booth took his MK Indy RR to a fifth Sport Spe­cials win of the year in race one, while Lee Emm in his Locost 7 con­firmed the over­all ti­tle with Class B vic­tory. Rob John­ston clinched the Class A ti­tle with sixth in race two, de­spite los­ing sev­eral places on lap one when he heard a strange noise and thought his en­gine had blown. Tom Grif­fiths, in a Tiger R10, beat Booth to the race win.

Gra­ham Crowhurst took an as­ton­ish­ing M3 Cup race win in the wet, ris­ing from the back af­ter spin­ning at the first cor­ner, then lap­ping seven sec­onds faster than any­one

else on lap two. His win meant Tom Coller se­cured the cham­pi­onship, de­spite stop­ping on lap one with a bent steer­ing arm. Coller then took his first win of the sea­son in an even wet­ter race two, mak­ing his own comeback af­ter stalling at the start.

Michael Price and Mar­cus Clut­ton (Porsche 997S) won the 45-minute Road­sports race, ben­e­fit­ing from mak­ing their pit­stop un­der the safety car.

David Heas­man pipped David Kemp­ton on the line by a mere 0.02s to win the first BMW Car Club Rac­ing con­test. Heas­man won race two as well, hold­ing off Michael Cutt who had risen from the back.

Rus­sell Mccarthy clinched the over­all BCV8 ti­tle. He won the dry first race, then won Class D in a sod­den race two in which the Class C cars proved bet­ter suited to the con­di­tions. That race was won by Jor­dan Spencer.

Lock opened up a big lead in dry race one

Tri­umphant re­turn brought Short hat-trick

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.