Ayr Roads are lov­ing all the scenic cour­ses

Pedal group takes on the Gal­loway Gal­lop route

Ayrshire Post - - SPORTS - Arnie Thom­son

Three mem­bers of Ayr Roads/ Harry Fair­bairn Cy­cling Club – Beth Macrae, Paul McSkim­ming and John Gem­mell – took part in the last Scot­tish cy­clo sportive of the sea­son over one of the coun­try’s most scenic cour­ses.

The Gal­loway Gal­lop route is made up of for­est roads, with chal­leng­ing climbs, amid breath­tak­ing scenery of the Gal­loway For­est Park and the Raider­land of S R Crock­ett.

The route starts at Kir­roughtree Cen­tre at Pal­nure near New­ton Ste­wart, where 20 years ago, Roads par­tic­i­pated at the un­veil­ing of the An­niver­sary Cairn, by plac­ing an his­tor­i­cal can­nis­ter within it.

The route fol­lows the Pal­nure Burn be­fore join­ing Black Wa­ter of Dee and then a cir­cuit of Loch Sk­er­row and Loch Stroan.

From here, the old rail­way line, made fa­mous by John Buchan in his ad­ven­ture novel The Thirty Nine Steps. The crum­bling plat­form of the old halt at Loch Sk­er­row is still in ev­i­dence.

The route car­ries on to the for­mer New Gal­loway Sta­tion at Moss­dale, be­fore fol­low­ing Raider’s Road to Clat­ter­ing­shaws Loch. The longer route con­tin­ues via Loch Dee, Loch Trool and Glen­trool be­fore tak­ing the Wood of Cree Road to New­ton Ste­wart.

The trio were pre­vented from tack­ling the longer route be­cause of fad­ing light and opted for the shorter route, still a 50 plus ride.

From Clat­ter­ing­shaws Loch, they fol­lowed the an­cient track of the Old Ed­in­burgh Road by Loch of the Lowes and the Grey Mare’s Tail be­fore re­turn­ing to Pal­nure.

Back on tar­mac and in glo­ri­ous sun­shine, the Sun­day club run saw 18 rid­ers head to Largs via back roads to Dalry be­fore the de­scent of the Haylie Brae. They re­turned via West Kil­bride, Ar­drossan and the coast road.

Ear­lier, the mid­week group en­joyed an­other northerly trek clock­ing up a 65 mile cir­cuit.

Mean­while, at the club AGM last Fri­day, tro­phy win­ners were an­nounced for the 2017 sea­son. Toni McIn­tosh took the cov­eted Se­nior Best All Rounder Tro­phy, as well as the Ladies BAR.

Oth­ers: Men’s League Cham­pi­onship: Calum MacDon­ald; Ladies League Cham­pi­onship: Aileen Fisher; Vet­er­ans’ League Cham­pi­onship: Scott Knox; Vet­er­ans’ Cup: Mark Warters; Ju­nior Tro­phy: Jonathon Hill­bourne; Ma­son Tro­phy: Beth Macrae; Evening ‘ 10’ League Cup: Aileen Fisher; Track Tro­phy: Vic Possee; Sportive: Andy Con­way; Turn­berry Cir­cuit: Kenny Scott; Davie Bell Me­mo­rial Cup: Paul Rod­well; Hill Climb: Ed Clifton; Road Race Tro­phy: Iain Fisher; Tourist Tro­phy: Alas­tair McGib­bon; Pen­ny­glen Cir­cuit: Calum MacDon­ald.

The Off- Road tro­phy win­ner will be an­nounced after the fi­nal Cy­clo Cross event in De­cem­ber.

The an­nual awards night is at the Ar­ran­dale Ho­tel on Fri­day, De­cem­ber 8, when Club Mem­ber of the Year will also be an­nounced.

Sun­day club runs leave Beres­ford Ter­race at 9.30am.

Club­bing to­gether The Ayr Roads Sun­day out­ing to Largs

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.