BBC Music Magazine - - CONCERTO -

Vi­olin Con­cer­tos Nos 1 & 2; Alone – Suite David Ois­trakh (vi­olin); Len­ingrad Phil­har­monic Orches­tra/mravin­sky; Moscow Phil­har­monic/kon­drashin; USSR State Sym­phony Orches­tra/ Rozhdestven­sky

Alto ALC 1337 (1956-71) 79:00 mins

Even if the First Con­certo does not quite rival the bleak in­ten­sity of Ois­trakh’s de­but re­cod­ing with Mitropou­los, these mas­terly ac­counts mine the mu­sic’s emo­tional core with re­lent­lessly prob­ing acu­ity.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.