BROOKLANDS PLAYS IT STRAIGHT
Racers return to historic venue after 78-year absence
Brooklands is reopening its famous Finishing Straight for motoring action for the first time in 78 years this weekend.
The Earl of March will have the honour of opening the iconic section of the track, to coincide with the same day of the circuit’s 110th anniversary celebrations, as part of the popular Brooklands Double Twelve Motorsport Festival that takes place on June 17-18.
The re-opening marks the completion of the first stage of the £8.1 million Heritage Lotteryfunded Brooklands Aircraft Factory and Race Track Revival Project.
The straight has not been seen or used in competition since 1939 due to the Bellman Hangar being built across the track in 1940 to make way for a surge in World War II aircraft production.
The hangar remained in place following the war, obscuring the straight where racing history was made and making it difficult for visitors to connect the Banking with the Clubhouse and Paddock.
Rare cars confirmed for the weekend include the 1927 Delages which took the top three places in the second British Grand Prix, held at Brooklands 90 years ago this year; the 1911 Fiat S76 known affectionately as The Beast of Turin; the John Parry-Thomas Land Speed Record car ‘Babs’ and the Museum’s own 24 litre multi-World Record holder Napier-Railton Special.
There will be a concours on both days, culminating with an awards ceremony on Sunday afternoon. Driving tests on the re-opened straight will also be available on the Sunday.
Tickets are available from £10 for seniors, £11 for adults and £6 for children between 5-16.
The straight hasn’t been used since the 1940s.