Kia Twin-Shock Ex­eter Two Day

Classic Trial - - CONTENTS - Words: Steven Crane • Pic­tures: Gil­lian Mcaveety and Matthew Welch

The 2017 Kia Twin­shock Se­ries Cham­pi­onship has once again pro­vided a wide and var­ied cham­pi­onship, cov­er­ing the whole of the UK to pro­vide a very tra­di­tional se­ries for ev­ery­one to en­joy over its nine rounds. Since the start of this cham­pi­onship a few years ago it’s seen a wide va­ri­ety of old ma­chin­ery come out of the sheds and garages to be rid­den and en­joyed. This is the true spirit of the cham­pi­onship. It has also got rid­ers from the past who had dis­ap­peared from the mo­tor­cy­cle scene back in the seat and com­pet­ing, and in some cases win­ning. The wide and ofetn var­ied ma­chin­ery has at­tracted much in­ter­est, from the guy who wants to ride a very tra­di­tional ma­chine to the guy who wants to take the older ma­chines into the mod­ern era. With a choice of four classes on both the Ex­pert and Club­man routes it gives the rid­ers to en­joy a day’s sport at a level of com­pe­ti­tion that they are happy with, and judg­ing by the smiles on their faces the for­mula has worked very well, at­tract­ing good strong en­tries at the ma­jor­ity of the rounds.

Ex­pert Cham­pi­onship

With the op­por­tu­nity to drop two rounds from the to­tal of nine it’s al­lowed the se­ries to de­velop the cham­pi­onship as the sea­son has pro­gressed, leav­ing a few twists and turns in the out­come. On the Ex­pert routes the ex­pe­ri­enced Stephen Bisby on his dis­tinc­tive Orange 250 Ossa ‘Grip­per’ has been a con­sis­tent force to be reck­oned with in the His­toric Span­ish class, win­ning two rounds and the cham­pi­onship. Win­ning the only three rounds he com­peted in Gary Younghus­band (Bultaco) showed ex­cel­lent form, with sin­gler­ound wins from David Wood (Ossa) and James Moor­house (Bultaco).

In the Monoshock class it’s been quite a dif­fer­ent story as the win­ners and ma­chin­ery have been var­ied. Dan San­ders (Yamaha) took the ti­tle with two wins but sec­ond placed Rob Faulkner (Yamaha) only won one round all sea­son de­spite con­test­ing the whole se­ries. An­other rider con­test­ing the nine rounds was Dean Dev­ereux (Honda), who came home third de­spite not win­ning a sin­gle round. Other wins came from Steve Bird (Yamaha), who won two, and one from David Carter (Gas Gas), last year’s cham­pion Colin Ward Snr (Yamaha), John Cow­ley (Honda) and young­ster Chris Al­ford who had a run out on a Yamaha.

For some rea­son or other the Brit­shock Pre-72 class was not that well sup­ported. It still pro­duced a win­ner in Nigel Scott (Tri­umph) who took four vic­to­ries, with the oth­ers com­ing from Ian Pe­berdy (BSA), James Fran­cis (BSA), Phil Houghton on his ‘rasp­ing’ Tri­umph Twin, Mar­tyn Wil­more (BSA) and an­other ‘Big Bike Rider’ Mark Stokes on his fear­some Tri­field.

Very com­pet­i­tive due to the na­ture of the ma­chin­ery the Twin­shock class was won by four-stroke Honda mounted Richard Allen who in­cluded two vic­to­ries on his way to the ti­tle. Sec­ond placed Olly Ware­ing (Fan­tic) re­mained at the podium on many oc­ca­sions de­spite not tak­ing any vic­to­ries. In third po­si­tion Ro­man Kyrny­ckyj (SWM) had two wins as the el­der of the two Hip­well broth­ers Andy steered his Honda to a sin­gle vic­tory and fourth in the se­ries. Sh­effield based Dar­ren Wasley con­tested three rounds on his 240 Fan­tic and won two of them, with Nic Draper tak­ing a sin­gle win on his Yamaha along­side Wayne Jones (Fan­tic).

Club­man Cham­pi­onship

Rid­ing slightly eas­ier haz­ards the Club­man Cham­pi­onship still re­mains very com­pet­i­tive. Prov­ing how good the 175 Yamaha from the early sev­en­ties still is Eirian Davis took three wins on his way to the His­toric Cham­pi­onship win. Both Yamaha mounted, James Wa­ters and Steve Fletcher fin­ished sec­ond and third with Wa­ters tak­ing three wins to re­ally push Davis for the ti­tle. Ossa mounted Gary Daykin took a round win, as did Joe Evans-Luter (Yamaha) and David In­gram on his Bultaco.

‘Rock­shocks’ main man Gary Fleck­ney con­tin­ues to de­velop his prod­ucts in events and will be very happy to have won this Monoshock class de­spite not win­ning a sin­gle round on his Honda. This was also the case for sec­ond placed Paul Hob­son (Honda). Gary Hawkins (Honda) only con­tested the lat­ter part of the cham­pi­onship, win­ning a sin­gle round in the process. Fifth over­all in the cham­pi­onship and win­ning two rounds was Mar­tyn Goodall (Yamaha), which was matched by Colin Ped­ley (Yamaha) with two class wins. Sin­gle-round wins were taken by Paul Whit­taker (Fan­tic) and Keith Norm­ing­ton (Honda).

Two round wins would take Peter Ed­wards on his 185 BSA Bantam to the Brit­shock Pre-72 ti­tle fol­lowed by Jonathan Souch on a four-stroke BSA with a sin­gle vic­tory. Other round win­ners in­cluded two from Jim Pick­er­ing (BSA) and sin­gle-round wins from Owen Hardisty (Tri­umph), Keith Wells (BSA), Dar­ren Palmer and BSA mounted Nigel Green­wood.

Once again a very com­pet­i­tive class, the Twin­shock was dom­i­nated by Stephen ‘Butch’ Rob­son on his Fan­tic win­ning six of the nine rounds. The other three were won by Martin Gil­bert on his lit­tle 85cc Honda, Paul Nor­man (SWM) and, in to­tal con­trast, Jim Wil­liams on his 350 ‘Jumbo’ SWM.

Please visit the web­site: www. twin­shockcham­pi­ for more in­for­ma­tion of events, venues and classes.

Richard Allen (Honda)

Dave Wood (Bultaco)

Harry Stanistreet (Ariel)

Stephen Bisby (Ossa)

Rob McEl­nea (Honda)

Dean Dev­ereux (Honda)

Olly Ware­ing (Fan­tic)

Robert Faulkner (Yamaha)

David Carter (Gas Gas)

Guy Stan­ley (Honda)

Keith Wells (BSA)

Matt Spink (Suzuki)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.