How to down­grade from the iOS or iPadOS 14 beta

Hav­ing trou­ble with the beta on your iPhone or iPad? You can go back, but it’s not quick and easy. Ja­son Cross re­ports

iPad&iPhone user - - CONTENTS -

We know iOS 14 is loaded with awe­some fea­tures you can’t wait to try out. It’s cur­rently avail­able as a de­vel­oper beta with a pub­lic beta on the way. And you may be tempted to in­stall one right away, but you should def­i­nitely not do that on a crit­i­cal de­vice you use ev­ery day.

If you’re hav­ing trou­ble with the iOS 14 beta, you should file a bug re­port (al­ways file bugs) and wait it out un­til the next beta re­lease. But if you can’t wait and just want to go back to iOS 13, you can do that too. You’ll just need to use a Mac or Win­dows PC to re­store your iPhone or iPad.

You did back up be­fore you up­graded, didn’t you?

Delet­ing the beta pro­file

You can re­move the iOS or iPadOS beta pro­file by open­ing Set­tings, then Gen­eral, then scrolling down to Pro­file. Tap on the beta pro­file and choose Re­move Pro­file. Whether you’re on the de­vel­oper beta or pub­lic beta, this will pre­vent you from get­ting fu­ture beta soft­ware. When the next pub­lic non-beta re­lease comes around, you’ll get that. But this will not ac­tu­ally re­move the beta from your de­vice. To do that, you’ll need to re­store your de­vice us­ing iTunes or a Mac with Mo­jave or later.

Restor­ing your de­vice

First, make sure you have the lat­est ver­sion of macOS or, on a Win­dows PC, the lat­est ver­sion of iTunes. Then, con­nect your iPhone or iPad to your com­puter.

You have to put your de­vice into re­cov­ery mode, and you do that dif­fer­ently depend­ing on the de­vice.

On an iPad with Face ID: Press and quickly re­lease the Vol­ume Up but­ton. Press and quickly re­lease the Vol­ume Down but­ton. Press and hold the Top but­ton un­til your de­vice be­gins to restart. Con­tinue hold­ing the Top but­ton un­til your de­vice goes into re­cov­ery mode.

For iPhone 8 or later: Press and quickly re­lease the Vol­ume Up but­ton. Press and quickly re­lease the Vol­ume Down but­ton. Then, press and hold the Side but­ton un­til you see the re­cov­ery mode screen.

For iPhone 7, 7 Plus or iPod touch (7th gen): Press and hold the Sleep/Wake and Vol­ume Down but­tons at the same time. Don’t re­lease the but­tons when you see the Ap­ple logo. Con­tinue to hold both but­tons un­til you see the re­cov­ery mode screen.

For iPhone 6s and ear­lier, iPad with Home but­ton, or iPod touch (6th gen or ear­lier): Press and hold the Sleep/Wake and Home but­tons at the same time. Don’t re­lease the but­tons when you see the Ap­ple logo. Con­tinue to hold both but­tons un­til you see the re­cov­ery mode screen.

In iTunes (or in macOS Mo­jave or later, your Mac Finder) you’ll get a mes­sage pop-up that says, “There

is a prob­lem with the iPhone that re­quires it to be up­dated or re­stored.” You’ll have the op­tion to Can­cel, Re­store, or Up­grade. Choose Re­store.

This will wipe your iPhone or iPad, then re­down­load and in­stall the lat­est non-beta ver­sion of iOS or iPadOS. If you don’t see that box, make sure you se­lect your iPhone in iTunes or in the side­bar of Finder, and make sure your de­vice is def­i­nitely in re­cov­ery mode.

Once the re­store process is done, you’ll get the Hello screen and go through the ini­tial set-up process on your de­vice. You can now re­store an iCloud backup or lo­cal backup from your Mac or PC. Note that you can only re­store lo­cal back­ups from be­fore you up­graded to the iOS 14 beta.

If you see this screen, you’re on the right track

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.