Penalty ques­tion for ace Cam­mish

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

Reign­ing Porsche Car­rera Cup GB cham­pion Dan Cam­mish was stripped of a vic­tory in the open­ing round at Brands Hatch last week­end af­ter a con­tro­ver­sial penalty.

The Red­line driver won race one on the road but was handed a five-sec­ond penalty for ex­ceed­ing track lim­its, which dropped him to sec­ond be­hind Dino Zam­par­elli.

Overnight rain com­bined with dam­aged cars drop­ping fluid meant track con­di­tions were tricky.

“I think I had a bit of a raw deal,” said Cam­mish. “If it was dry then it would be fair but the track was wet and a car was putting down fluid. As the leader I was the first to come across it each time.”

Porsche GB mo­tor­sport man­ager James Macnaughton said: “We have to act in ac­cor­dance with the rules, reg­u­la­tions and the blue book and the in­for­ma­tion we have from the judges. All the driv­ers have signed up to that.”

Cam­mish made up for the dis­ap­point­ment in the sec­ond race by claim­ing a lights-to-flag win.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.