Af­ter mul­ti­ple lead­ers, Hodg­son and Jones take Ty Croes win

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Davev Thomas

Or­gan­iser: Stock­port 061 MC When: April 17 Where: Ty Croes, An­gle­sey Cham­pi­onships: ANWCC; ANCC, SD34 Stages: 10 Starters: 51

Three crews took turns at lead­ing the sec­ond of this year’s An­gle­sey Cir­cuit ral­lies, and it was the Ford Es­cort Mk2 of Martin Hodg­son/tony Jones that emerged vic­to­ri­ous.

Bran­don Smith and 15-year-old Chloe Thomas, lead­ers at half­way, fin­ished run­ners-up in their Dar­rian and Mike Tay­lor/mark de Spong claimed the fi­nal podium spot in their Sun­beam Lo­tus.

Son-and-fa­ther crew Dale and Mark Carter gained a bril­liant re­sult with fourth in their Subaru Im­preza, ahead of the 1600cc class win­ners Howard Pot­ter/ Louise Clark (Tal­bot Sun­beam). Tied in sixth were John Clay­ton/craig Simkiss (Mit­subishi Lancer) and Cathy Se­wart/ Colin Stephens (Sun­beam Lo­tus), the lady driver los­ing out on the tie-breaker but still claim­ing her best fin­ish.

Derek Blyth/nick Col­man (Im­preza) took eighth ahead of Mathew Roberts/ Eilir Wil­liams (Citroen Saxo).

Chris Bri­er­ley, nor­mally a co-driver, was given the loan of his driver’s BMW and claimed a top 10 place with Dy­lan (Chloe’s fa­ther) Thomas co-driv­ing.

The two-litre class looked to be head­ing to Rob Hughes/sion Cun­niff un­til their Ford Fo­cus diff failed on the last stage. They limped home to gain points.

Early class lead­ers had been Mark Kelly/andy Baker (Ford Es­cort) who were third when they re­tired with mi­nor dam­age. That left lo­cals John Jones/ Llion Owen (Es­cort) to take the win by just 7s from Adam Booth/daniel Granger, de­but­ing their beau­ti­fully turned-out Ford Es­cort Mk2. Third went to Steven El­li­son/adrian Lloyd (Es­cort).

Early lead­ers Mick Gil­man/iain Dou­glas (Es­cort Cos­worth) stopped on stage six, while late en­try Dave Davies/ Rich Jones were in sec­ond spot in their BMW Com­pact when the electrics failed.

The top three in the smaller ca­pac­ity classes re­mained un­changed through­out, the 1600 class awards go­ing to Pot­ter/ Clark, Roberts/wil­liams and third Sion Jones/gethin Wil­liams (Citroen Saxo). The 1400cc class was won by lo­cals Dyfed Pritchard/ianto Jones (Vaux­hall Nova) from Martin Payne/sarah Payne (Vaux­hall As­tra) and Ian Kelly/ Mar­garet Kelly (Nis­san Mi­cra). Re­sults 1 Martin Hodg­son/tony Jones (Ford Es­cort Mk2) 50m52s; 2 Bran­don Smith/ Chloe Thomas (Dar­rian T9) +32s; 3 Mike Tay­lor/ Mark de Spong (Tal­bot Sun­beam Lo­tus); 4 Dale Carter/ Mark Carter (Subaru Im­preza); 5 Howard Pot­ter/ Louise Clark (Tal­bot Sun­beam); 6 John Clay­ton/ Craig Simkiss (Mit­subishi Lancer); 7 Cathy Se­wart/ Colin Stephens (Tal­bot Sun­beam Lo­tus); 8 Derek Blyth/ Nick Col­man (Im­preza); 9 Mathew Roberts/ Eilir Wil­liams (Citroen Saxo); 10 Christo­pher Bri­er­ley/ Dy­lan Thomas (BMW M3). Class win­ners Dyfed Pritchard/ Ianto Jones (Vaux­hall Nova); Pot­ter/ Clark; John Jones/ Llion Owen (Es­cort Mk2); Hodg­son/jones.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.