BTRDA RAL­LY­CROSS Gra­ham beats the grem­lins

BTRDA Ral­ly­cross: Pem­brey

Motor Sport News - - Sporting Scene - By Hal Ridge Re­sults

Or­gan­iser: BTRDA When: July 2/3 Starters: 58

Tommy Gra­ham con­tin­ued his dom­i­na­tion of the BTRDA Club­mans Ral­ly­cross Cham­pi­onship in the sec­ond dou­ble-header event of the sea­son at Pem­brey.

How­ever, the Ir­ish­man’s un­beaten run was put in jeop­ardy on Satur­day when the turbo ex­pired on his Zak­speed Ford Es­cort Mk 2 while lead­ing. He was forced to crawl the car over the line but beat com­pa­triot Pa­trick Ryan by 0.8s. Pearse Brown fin­ished third, de­spite pres­sure through­out from Al­lan Tap­scott.

Gra­ham’s vic­tory on Sun­day, his fifth of the sea­son, was more as­sured, win­ning the fi­nal ahead of Todd Crooks (BMW Mini) by more than three sec­onds. Lloyd Spendlove (Lo­tus Ex­ige) was third.

Pro­duc­tion cham­pi­onship leader James Or­ton main­tained his grip on the cat­e­gory with a win in round four and third place in round five. On Satur­day the Peu­geot 106 driver led home Martin Peters and Paul Davis, while Peters claimed vic­tory in round five on Sun­day.

John Ward, the 2015 over­all BTRDA Ral­ly­cross cham­pion, fin­ish sec­ond, while Or­ton rounded out the top three.

In the Stan­dard class, Adam Mills scored a per­sonal best re­sult in the fi­nal on Sun­day with fourth place. Mark Richard­son won the Historic fi­nal on Satur­day, his Ford Sierra now fit­ted with two tur­bocharg­ers.

The flam­boy­ant Vince Bris­tow fin­ished sec­ond in his BMW 318i, less than half a sec­ond adrift. Shaun Buck­ley fin­ished on the podium in his Ford Es­cort Mk2 on Satur­day and went two places bet­ter on Sun­day to score vic­tory ahead of fel­low Mk2 ex­po­nent Chris Far­rell.

In the com­bined Club­man Su­per­car and Pro­duc­tion four­wheel-drive di­vi­sion Gary Pusey won on both days. Wil­lie Far­rell and Nigel Burke fin­ished sec­ond and third in an all-subaru Im­preza podium in round four, which was re­peated in round five with Pusey be­ing chased home by Liam Man­ning. Far­rell fin­ished third.

Ir­ish Ral­ly­cross or­gan­is­ers held a Su­per­fi­nal on both days, which was twice won by reign­ing cham­pion Wil­lie Coyne.

1 James Or­ton (Peu­geot 106) 5m11.445s; 2 Martin Peters (Citroen Saxo) +0.313s; 3 Paul Davis (Citroen Saxo); 4 Richard Todd (Peu­geot 106); 5 Adam Mills (Peu­geot 106); 6 John Ward (Peu­geot 106).

1 Mark Richard­son (Ford Sierra) 5m16.787s; 2 Vince Bris­tow (BMW 318i) +0.503s; 3 Shaun Buck­ley (Ford Es­cort); 4 Karl Skitt (Vaux­hall Cal­i­bra); 5 Chris Far­rell (Ford Es­cort); 6 Ryan Stutch­bury (Vaux­hall Vec­tra) Club­man Su­per­car/ Pro­duc­tion 4x4 Round 5 (5 laps) Su­per Mod­i­fied Round 5 (5 laps) Pro­duc­tion Round 5 (5 laps)


Vaux­hall Ti­gra ‘B’ Opel Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra Vaux­hall Ti­gra

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.