Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

Cham­pi­onship leader Niall Mur­ray re­turned to the top spot of the For­mula Ford 1600 podium after tak­ing both vic­to­ries at Brands Hatch, mak­ing it six wins in 2016.

The Mur­ray Motorsport driver, who claimed pole ahead of Stephen Daly for race one, held his line through Pad­dock Hill Bend and con­tin­ued to a com­fort­able vic­tory. Though Daly and James Raven fin­ished sec­ond and third on track, both re­ceived five-sec­ond time penal­ties for ex­ceed­ing track lim­its rel­e­gat­ing them to down to ninth and 10th giv­ing the fi­nal podium places to Jake Byrne and Luke Williams, re­spec­tively.

It was equally as com­fort­able for Mur­ray in race two as a nine-car train squab­bled for the fi­nal two podium places al­low­ing the Ir­ish­man to cre­ate a 10-sec­ond gap to the rest of the pack. It was a bat­tle even­tu­ally won by the Ray of Raven, who carved his way through from ninth, pass­ing third-placed Williams with a bold move through the inside of Druids.

Form­ing their own grid this week­end, there was only one win­ner in Pre ’90 For­mula Ford as Ben Tin­kler ex­tended his lead at the top of the cham­pi­onship.

It was a dif­fer­ent story in the For­mula Jedi Cham­pi­onship as there were four dif­fer­ent win­ners across the week­end in the se­ries that com­bines scream­ing bike en­gines with slick tyres and wings. Rookie Bradley Hob­day earned his first vic­tory in race one, ahead of Robert Sayell after get­ting, what he called “my best ever start” from sec­ond on the grid. The top eight re­verse grid for race two put Lee Mor­gan on pole, a po­si­tion the 2013 cham­pion rel­ished, as he bagged his first win of 2016.

Sayell, who lies sec­ond in the stand­ings, then held off a con­fi­dent Mor­gan in race three, while in the fi­nal race Paul Butcher claimed “it was about time” after he earned the vic­tory he has nar­rowly missed on mul­ti­ple oc­ca­sions this year.

The Mazda mae­stro Tom Roche con­tin­ued to dom­i­nate in the MX-5 Cham­pi­onship with both wins in Group A. The Welsh­man, who has only lost one race all sea­son, seemed in a class of his own, beat­ing Si­mon God­dard in the first and James Har­ris later in the week­end, while through a lap or so later and by the che­quered flag had charged up to shadow Mof­fett across the line.

Michael Cullen took the open­ing Fi­esta ST win, with Sean Lil­lis chal­leng­ing him all the way. In race two, Dave Maguire was vic­to­ri­ous, de­spite the best ef­forts of Cullen in the clos­ing stages, the gap less than a tenth as they passed the flag side-by-side.

Grze­gorz Ka­li­necki took yet another ITCC win in race one. In race two, Shane Rab­bitt and Ka­li­necki bat­tled at the head of the field but in their wake, Ed­die Kinirons and Robert Sav­age tan­gled heav­ily at turn two, the re­sult­ing shunt bring­ing out the red flags and ul­ti­mately lead­ing to the race be­ing aban­doned. In the con­cur­rently run ISCC race, mul­ti­ple cham­pion Alan Watkins was vic­to­ri­ous on both oc­ca­sions.

Jackie Cochrane added to his un­beaten 2016 record in HRCA in race one. Early chal­lenger Bernard Fo­ley re­tired, hand­ing Steve Griffin the run­ner-up spot. Billy Cros­bie com­pleted the podium hav­ing spun un­der pres­sure from Griffin late on. In race two, Cochrane was ad­judged to have jumped the start, the re­sul­tant penalty el­e­vat­ing the ju­bi­lant Griffin to the top step of the podium.

Phil Law­less took the first Fi­esta Zetec race ahead of Michael Tu­multy and Dar­ren Lawler. Qual­i­fy­ing race vic­tor Roy Tobin was fourth. Law­less won the sec­ond qual­i­fier while Tu­multy took a dom­i­nant de­but win in wet con­di­tions in the fi­nal.

Niall Quinn drove su­perbly to take SEAT Su­per­cup race one, vault­ing him­self back into the ti­tle bat­tle in the process. In race two though, se­ries leader Erik Hol­stein took the win after a crack­ing start, hav­ing grabbed the lead from row two after an early race stop­page.

1 Kevin O’hara (Lea­s­t­one); 2 Ray Moore (Lea­s­t­one) +0.554s; 3 Colm Black­burn (Lea­s­t­one); 4 An­thony Cross (Sheane); 5 Paula Moore (Lea­s­t­one); 6 Justin Costello (Lea­s­t­one). FL O’hara 1m02.353s (66.37mph). P O’hara. S 26.

1 O’hara; 2 Dan Pol­ley (Sheane) +0.568s; 3 Moore; 4 Black­burn; 5 Jimmy Fur­long (Sheane); 6 Costello. FL O’hara 1m01.792s (66.97mph). P O’hara. S 25.

1 O’hara; 2 Pol­ley +0.631s; 3 Black­burn; 4 Moore; 5 Joe Power (Lea­s­t­one); 6 Stephen Mor­rin (Lea­s­t­one). FL Pol­ley 1m09.798s (59.29mph). P O’hara. S 25.

1 Pol­ley; 2 Black­burn +4.078s; 3 Costello; 4 Gro­gan; 5 Fur­long; 6 Buck­ley. FL Pol­ley 1m01.910s (66.84mph). P Pol­ley. S 14.

1 Cian Carey (Tatuus F Re­nault); 2 Barry Rab­bitt (Tatuus F Re­nault) +2.786s; 3 Noel Robin­son (Tatuus F Re­nault); 4 Ea­monn Mathe­son (Mathe­son Turbo); 5 Martin Daly (Tatuus F Re­nault); 6 John Daly (Lola F3000). FL Carey 54.685s (75.68mph). P Carey. S 7.

1 Rab­bitt; 2 Carey +0.042s; 3 M Daly; 4 Robin­son; 5 J Daly; 6 Colm Hynes (Rey­nard 88D). FL Carey 54.665s (75.70mph). P Carey. S 8.

1 Sam Mof­fett; 2 Peter Barrable +0.559s; 3 Andy O’brien; 4 Barry Hal­lion; 5 Graeme Colfer; 6 Bob Cameron. FL O’brien 1m00.446s (68.46mph). P O’brien. S 10.

1 Mof­fett; 2 Barrable +0.148s; 3 O’brien; 4 Colfer; 5 Cameron; 6 Alan Daw­son. FL Barrable 1m00.548s (68.35mph). P O’brien. S 10.

1 Michael Cullen; 2 Sean Lil­lis +0.210s; 3 Kevin Do­ran; 4 Dave Maguire; 5 John Den­ning; 6 Ulick Burke. FL Lil­lis 1m07.102s (61.67mph). P Lil­lis. S 18.

1 Maguire; 2 Cullen +0.010s; 3 Lil­lis; 4 Burke; 5 Den­ning; 6 John Ward. FL Maguire 1m07.254s (61.53mph). P Maguire. S 18.

1 Grze­gorz Ka­li­necki (VW Golf); 2 Robert Sav­age (Honda In­te­gra) +3.114s; 3 Shane Rab­bitt (Mazda RX7); 4 Kealan O’con­nor (Honda In­te­gra); 5 Martin Duffy (BMW M3); 6 Ed­die Kinirons (BMW M3). CW Jay O’reilly (Honda Civic). FL Ka­li­necki 1m00.919s (67.93mph). P Ka­li­necki. S 13.

1 Jackie Cochrane (Sun­beam Tiger); 2 Steve Griffin (MG Midget) +6.459s; 3 Billy Cros­bie (Lo­tus 7); 4 Val Thomp­son (TMC Costin); 5 Wolf­gang Sch­nittger (MG Midget); 6 Liam Ruth (MG Midget). CW Griffin; Sch­nittger; Noel Ka­vanagh (MGB Road­ster). FL Cochrane 1m03.015s (65.67mph). P Bernard Fo­ley (MGB GT V8). S 9.

1 Griffin; 2 Cochrane +6.920s; 3 Cros­bie; 4 Sch­nittger; 5 Garth Maxwell (MGB GT V8); 6 Ka­vanagh. CW Cochrane; Sch­nittger; Ka­vanagh. FL Cochrane 1m03.472s (65.20mph). P Cochrane. S 8.

1 Philip Law­less; 2 Trevor Far­rar +2.407s; 3 Tobin; 4 Gary Wheeler; 5 John­ston; 6 Thomas Mul­ready. FL Law­less 1m12.312s (57.23mph). P Far­rar. S 16.

1 Law­less; 2 Michael Tu­multy +1.323s; 3 Dar­ren Lawler; 4 Tobin; 5 Far­rar; 6 O’donoghue. FL Law­less 1m12.323s (57.22mph). P Shane Kenny. S 22.

1 Tu­multy; 2 Dar­ragh Mcmullen +3.697s; 3 Camp­bell; 4 John Boland; 5 Lawler; 6 Law­less. FL Far­rar 1m19.337s (52.16mph). P Mcmullen. S 22.

Mur­ray ex­tended his points lead

Roche took three Mazda vic­to­ries

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.