Motor Sport News - - Mn Circuit Rally Review -

The over­all cham­pi­onship bat­tle was in­trigu­ing enough in the Motorsport News Cir­cuit Rally Cham­pi­onship, but it was noth­ing on some of the tus­sles in the classes.

Most ob­vi­ously, the Class A bat­tle was a joy to be­hold. After seven rounds and count­less miles of ac­tion, the spar­ring cham­pi­onship con­tenders were a sin­gle sec­ond apart go­ing into the fi­nal stage of the sea­son at Snet­ter­ton.

After prob­lems ear­lier in the week­end, Joe Cun­ning­ham and Mark Fowler’s Vaux­hall Corsa over­came Justin Law­son and Paul Hargreaves’ Nova for the hon­ours. The two crews were re­spect­ful in their fight, with plenty of bois­ter­ous needling along the way: ex­actly as a grass­roots rally bat­tle should be.

After 40 years out of ral­ly­ing, David Mairs re­turned to seal Class B in his Ral­lyme Volk­swa­gen Polo. It re­sulted in him in­stantly want­ing a big­ger and bet­ter car to re­turn in next year with co-driver Martin Young after the juices were flow­ing once more.

Steve Quigley and Tom Hutchings dom­i­nated Class C in their Re­nault Clio, but the duo forgo the prize as they take sec­ond in the Miche­lin Cup. There­fore Stu­art Gilks takes the hon­ours with Michael Boyns on the notes in their trusty Tal­bot Sun­beam.

In Class D1, James Shar­rock and Ash­ley Field topped the or­der after their sea­son-long ti­tle fight, but they also give up class hon­ours to take Miche­lin prizes. Hard work­ing Mike Tay­lor and Martin Haggett (Sun­beam Tal­bot Lotus) beat the re­li­able BMW Com­pact of Mike Bayliss to the class brag­ging rights.

Nigel Mum­mery headed Class D2 in his Ford Fo­cus WRC, ahead of David Tinn. The Pro­ton driver won two of the four rounds he en­tered in the eight-round se­ries. Fin­ish­ing 48 points be­hind Mum­mery in class was a phe­nom­e­nal re­sult.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.