Motor Sport News - - Rally News - By Jack Benyon Pho­tos: Jakob Ebrey, mck­lein-im­age­

The over­all win­ners of this year’s Bri­tish Rally Cham­pi­onship and the Ju­nior cat­e­gory vic­tors will be awarded a free en­try to the na­tional sec­tion of Wales Rally GB as part of the event’s Road to Wales scheme.

As well as the BRC, the win­ners of the Scot­tish and BTRDA Gold Star cham­pi­onships will also gain a free en­try, while two other na­tional cham­pi­onships have cho­sen a slightly dif­fer­ent cri­te­ria.

The Welsh Cham­pi­onship will award the free en­try to the crew with the best score from five of seven rounds if the se­ries hasn’t been de­cided by the Woood­pecker Rally in Septem­ber. The North­ern Ir­ish se­ries will hand its prize to its Ju­nior win­ner.

El­fyn Evans and Rob Dug­gan cur­rently lead the BRC 1 and BRC Ju­nior slates, while Garry Pear­son, James Wil­son and Luke Fran­cis head the Scot­tish, North­ern Ir­ish and Welsh re­spec­tively. Charlie Payne tops the BTRDA Gold Star cham­pi­onship.

Dug­gan was the win­ner of last year’s Car­ry­duff Fork­lift Road to Wales award, which gave him a David Greer-pre­pared Citroen DS 3 R3T Max to com­pete in the Ju­nior World Rally Cham­pi­onship. He re­tired with en­gine is­sues but had run as high as sec­ond dur­ing the event.

“It’s def­i­nitely some­thing we’d po­ten­tially look into,” said Dug­gan, who leads the Ju­nior BRC standings by 25 points. “Af­ter last year, we’d love to go back and get the three days of it. It’s al­ways good to do a world event so to go back and get a trou­ble-free run would be great for ex­pe­ri­ence.”

SRC leader Pear­son added: “It’s def­i­nitely a good prize. The prob­lem for us is I don’t know if we’d be able to af­ford it. It’s cer­tainly a mas­sive prize that could be up for grabs.”

This year’s Na­tional Rally will use the same 12 stages as the World Cham­pi­onship crews, but will run them once to a to­tal of 107 miles over three days of com­pet­i­tive ac­tion. En­tries open on Au­gust 31.

Mike Faulkner and Pete Foy won last year’s event, af­ter Jock Arm­strong broke a wheel bear­ing on the last stage of the three-day marathon.

Salo­nen won 1986 RAC Rally Dug­gan won last year’s prize to drive a DS 3

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.