Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

win in the sec­ond event, but ul­ti­mately the cham­pion elect would not be de­nied his sec­ond win of the day and his ti­tle suc­cess. “This is just fan­tas­tic, it will take a while for this to sink in,” Swaffer said af­ter­wards.

The lead bat­tle though was eclipsed by an ab­sorb­ing tus­sle for fourth be­tween Needell and Good­man. To the de­light of the crowd, the pair would swap po­si­tions nu­mer­ous times as they braked as late as they dared for Club, the clouds of tyre smoke be­ing a clear in­di­ca­tor of the fe­roc­ity of the bat­tle.

On the fi­nal lap, the pair were handed an added in­cen­tive when third-placed Dav­i­son felt his car fal­ter climb­ing Wood­ham Hill. Good­man led Needell as the pair ap­proached Club, but the for­mer F1 and Le Mans star mus­cled his way through ex­it­ing the chi­cane to steal the fi­nal podium spot.

The third race was a non-cham­pi­onship ‘hand­i­cap’ event, with drivers be­ing re­leased from the pits at spe­cific time in­ter­vals with the faster run­ners be­ing re­leased last. Bryn Beau­rain took vic­tory ahead of Steve Carter and Senna Os­man, with Waite fin­ish­ing fourth de­spite need­ing to over­come a 70-sec­ond deficit.

Fol­low­ing vic­tory in the St Mary’s Tro­phy race at Good­wood and An­drew’s race two win in the BTCC at Sil­ver­stone, Mike Jor­dan looked all set to con­tinue his fam­ily’s re­cent run of suc­cess in the HRDC Tour­ing Greats and TC63 con­test at the wheel of his Austin A40. Af­ter 10 laps, Jor­dan had built up a huge lead over the bat­tle for sec­ond in­volv­ing Mark Daniell’s sim­i­lar car, Neil Brown’s Austin A35 and Roger Cope’s Jaguar Mk1.

Yet, the race was red-flagged at this point and cru­cially, sec­onds af­ter the manda­tory pit-stop win­dow had opened. The main ben­e­fi­ciary was Ding Bos­ton in his Ri­ley 1.5, who had pit­ted dur­ing this phase. It was to prove a cru­cial fac­tor in the out­come of the race.

At the restart, Jor­dan was among sev­eral of the lead­ing con­tenders to head to the pits to com­plete the com­pul­sory stop. With Bos­ton not need­ing to pit, he in­her­ited the lead, leav­ing Jor­dan to em­bark on a heroic charge to close down a 50-sec­ond gap. De­spite driv­ing flat out around much of the cir­cuit and lap­ping sig­nif­i­cantly faster than Bos­ton, Jor­dan fell marginally short. Bos­ton held on to claim a pop­u­lar, if some­what un­likely, win by just 0.480s. Be­hind the top two, Daniell held off Brown to take third.

There was a nail-bit­ing fin­ish to the first Mighty Mini Cham­pi­onship race too. Scott Ken­dall sur­vived a last-gasp at­tempt by Adrian Tuck­ley to claim vic­tory in the Su­per Mighty Mini class in race one, de­spite the pair mak­ing con­tact ex­it­ing Club. Tuck­ley was slowed suf­fi­ciently to al­low Alex Comis to grab sec­ond on the drag to the line.

Ken­dall and Tuck­ley re­newed their bat­tle in race two but the for­mer came out on top again, while Comis just held off Louise Inch to claim third. Greg Jenk­ins scored two Mighty Mini wins to strengthen his claim for the ‘Class A’ ti­tle, with Sam Tom­lin­son and Stuart Coombs tak­ing a sec­ond each, de­spite the lat­ter be­ing con­cerned by fad­ing brakes.

For­mer Porsche rac­ing stal­wart Pete Cham­bers took a lights-to-flag vic­tory in the HRDC All­stars, Academy and A-se­ries in his Lo­tus Cortina Mk1. De­spite the in­ter­ven­tion of a safety car, John Spiers was un­able to close the gap to Cham­bers in the clos­ing stages and had to set­tle for sec­ond in his sim­i­lar car. Ben Adams re­cov­ered from a spin on oil at Church on lap two to claim third in his Turner MKII, while James Col­burn was the first Academy driver home in his Austin A30.

1 Matt Swaffer (E30); 2 Harry Good­man (320i) +0.790s; 3 Will Dav­i­son (E30); 4 Tiff Needell (E30 320); 5 Rob Cooper (320i); 6 Stuart Waite (320i). Fastest lap Dav­i­son 1m34.725s (89.53mph). Pole Good­man. Starters 24.

1 Swaffer; 2 Waite +0.313s; 3 Needell; 4 Good­man; 5 Andy Strong (E30 320i); 6 Justin Turner (E30 320i). FL Dav­i­son 1m34.283s (89.95mph). P Swaffer. S 24.

1 Bryn Beau­rain (E30 320); 2 Steve Carter (E30 318) +4.864s; 3 Senna Os­man (E30 321); 4 Waite; 5 Edd Gid­dings (320); 6 James Vick­ers (E30 320i). FL Waite 1m33.808s (90.41mph). P John Stone­house (320i). S 20.

1 Ding Bos­ton (Ri­ley 1.5); 2 Mike Jor­dan (Austin A40) +0.480s; 3 Mark Daniell (Austin A40); 4 Neil Brown (Austin A35); 5 Gavin Wat­son (Alfa Romeo Gi­uli­etta Ti); 6 Glenn Pear­son/ Peter Dor­lin (Jaguar Mk1). CW Jor­dan; Wat­son; Pear­son/ Dor­lin; Paul Unsworth/antony Ross (Alfa Romeo Gi­u­lia Ti); Bruce Chap­man (Austin A35 Academy). FL Jor­dan 1m36.128s (88.23mph). P Jor­dan. S 22.

1 Ken­dall; 2 Tuck­ley +0.066s; 3 Comis; 4 Inch; 5 Ride­out; 6 But­ler. CW Jenk­ins. FL Ken­dall 1m38.138s (86.42mph). P But­ler. S 16.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.