Cur­ran leads BTRDA charge at Bly­ton Park

Motor Sport News - - Sporting Scene - By Hal Ridge

Or­gan­iser: BTRDA Where: Bly­ton Park, Lin­colnshire When: Oc­to­ber 16 Starters: 48 For­mer BTRDA Rallycross cham­pion Kieran Cur­ran mas­tered both wet and dry con­di­tions to claim vic­tory at the penul­ti­mate round of the Club­mans se­ries at Bly­ton Park as the dom­i­nant force of 2016, Tommy Gra­ham, re­tired in prac­tice with a blown en­gine in his Ford Es­cort Mk2.

Cur­ran led the Su­per­mod­i­fied fi­nal from lights to flag to re­main un­beaten at Bly­ton in his Vaux­hall Corsa.

The Ir­ish driver was pushed hard for the du­ra­tion by Toy­ota MR2 man Marc Jones, while Chris Rans­ley com­pleted the podium on his de­but in a new BMW Com­pact.

Bri­tish RX fron­trun­ner Todd Crooks qual­i­fied on the front row for the fi­nal but was forced to with­draw with a suspected head gas­ket fail­ure in heat three. Ex­pe­ri­enced BMW Mini driver David Bell was fourth in the fi­nal, ahead of the Peu­geot 106 of David At­ti­well.

In the new-for-2016 Pro­duc­tion 4x4 divi­sion, for­mer Bri­tish Cham­pi­onship Su­per­car racer Mike Man­ning claimed vic­tory in his Subaru Im­preza as class grad­u­ates Ian Shel­ley and Ed­die Gibbs both suc­cumbed to me­chan­i­cal prob­lems in heat two.

The Pro­duc­tion cat­e­gory fi­nal was won by Peu­geot 106 driver James Or­ton, while reign­ing BTRDA cham­pion John Ward fin­ished sec­ond and Richard Todd climbed from win­ning the B fi­nal to make it a Peu­geot 106 podium lock-out.

Fred Ling had his best rallycross out­ing to date at the wheel of his Citroen Saxo by qual­i­fy­ing fourth for the A fi­nal and fin­ish­ing fifth, be­hind Michael Labedz. Juozas Meskauskas fin­ished sixth in his Citroen C2.

New­comer Jaidon Ben­nett was vic­to­ri­ous in his first event, win­ning the Ju­nior cat­e­gory fi­nal in his SEAT Arosa, just ahead of Bri­tish Cham­pi­onship com­peti­tor Mor­gan Wroot, rac­ing a Suzuki Swift.

An­other new­comer, Laura Boak, com­pleted the podium.

Chris Far­rell pro­vided plenty of en­ter­tain­ment in his rear-wheel-drive Ford Es­cort in the His­toric cat­e­gory to qual­ify on pole po­si­tion for the A fi­nal and win the event from Peu­geot 205 cam­paigner Ryan Stutch­bury. All-rounder Vince Bris­tow used his ven­er­a­ble BMW 318i to fin­ish on the podium, while Es­cort driver Shaun Buck­ley scored fourth ahead of the Mini of Ge­orge Ed­wardes.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.