Mur­ray heads re­turnees while Malvern is a wild­card

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

Reign­ing BRSCC FF1600 Na­tional cham­pion Niall Mur­ray leads the con­tenders from this year’s cham­pi­onship to have en­tered the For­mula Ford Fes­ti­val.

Hav­ing won the event in 2013, Bernard Dolan-run Mur­ray dom­i­nated both cham­pi­onship races on the Brands Hatch Indy Cir­cuit in the na­tional cham­pi­onship by four and 10 sec­onds re­spec­tively ear­lier this year, but says the na­ture of the Fes­ti­val means there can be no favourite.

“I’m re­ally look­ing for­ward to it, we’ve had a re­ally strong year and his­tor­i­cally we’ve gone well there,” said Mur­ray. “But this is the Fes­ti­val and any­thing can hap­pen.”

The Fes­ti­val brings a host of one-off en­tries that haven’t com­peted in the cham­pi­onship but turnout for the knock­out event.

Bri­tish Fford cham­pion and Walter Hayes Tro­phy win­ner Scott Malvern will com­pete in a Geva Rac­ing My­gale, which has been con­verted from Du­ratec to a Kent en­gine.

“I did one morn­ing’s test at Zolder and have a day be­fore the event,” said Malvern. “The car was mega. I’m used to it in Du­ratec form, but the bal­ance is al­most the same with a Kent en­gine, so it’s re­ally fa­mil­iar.”

Mul­ti­ple win­ner Joey Fos­ter also re­turns and will be a fron­trun­ner, but the pre­vi­ous two win­ners of the Fes­ti­val are miss­ing. Last year’s win­ner Wayne Boyd is on Euro­pean Le Mans Se­ries duty, while 2014 win­ner James Raven doesn’t have the bud­get.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.