Motor Sport News - - Historics -

Among five championships re­solved on the HSCC 50th an­niver­sary fi­nals week­end, the Guards Tro­phy fight was the most dra­matic. As table-top­per John Dav­i­son (Lo­tus Elan ‘26R’) failed to com­plete a sec­ond suc­ces­sive round, MGB stal­wart Martin Richard­son coolly equalled his score. With four wins and a sec­ond apiece, hon­ours are shared.

A car­bu­ret­tor fire fraz­zled Dav­i­son’s electrics on the grid, but he limped to the pits where his crew changed the vis­i­ble wiring. A fin­ish was still on un­til a melted wire in the dis­trib­u­tor stranded him. With John Spiers’s over­heat­ing TVR Grif­fith his only class op­po­nent, 2015 cham­pion Mike Gard­ner (who re­layed Dan Cox after a scrap) couldn’t re­peat, but Richard­son beat three ri­vals for nine cru­cial points.

Up ahead, Martin Stret­ton had shot Si­mon Durl­ing’s Elva MK7S past the Chevrons of Will and Michael Schryver, Mark Col­man and Daryl Tay­lor but re­tired with its brakes ablaze. Col­man drove beau­ti­fully to de­feat the Schryvers with Tay­lor third, stuck in fifth gear for three laps.

Ju­lian Barter won his sec­ond 70s Road Sports ti­tle, pi­lot­ing Iain Daniels’ Elan to a scin­til­lat­ing cat-and­mouse vic­tory over Richard Plant (Mor­gan +8) in a huge field. De­fend­ing champ Jim Dean fielded his white Europa – lent to Barter in al­ter­nate early rounds – in­stead of the green one but en­gine prob­lems ended slim re­ten­tion hopes. Charles Barter (Dat­sun 240Z) made the best get­away, but slipped back to third place.

After a qual­i­fi­ca­tion heat, won from the back by nor­mal fron­trun­ner Si­mon Toyne, Lan­cas­trian Cal­lum Grant nailed his sec­ond His­toric For­mula Ford ti­tle, his ninth vic­tory of the cam­paign putting it beyond sixth-placed Rob Wain­wright’s grasp. Triple champ Benn Simms bat­tled his mis­fir­ing Jomo to sec­ond ahead of ec­static teenager Ed Thurston.

Side­lined from sixth by a bro­ken throt­tle cable in the first points race, Benn Til­ley, 17, rock­eted from 21st to win the sec­ond repechage, then drove bril­liantly from 13th to third be­hind 2013 champ Sam Mitchell and Grant, whose or­der changed count­less times in the fi­nale.

Mark Jones (Lo­tus Cortina) and Mike Gar­diner (Fal­con) won a Tour­ing Car round apiece. Jones am­bushed Jon Mil­ice­vic’s Mini as con­di­tions im­proved in the opener, but lurched wide at Copse ben­e­fit­ing the V8 later. He­roes of the day were Si­mon Benoy, who landed his third ti­tle with a first and sec­ond in class – be­hind David Heale – on the re­turn of his trusty Imp, and 2006 cham­pion Mike Hanna, who re­built it fol­low­ing the mas­sive Oul­ton Park start shunt in Au­gust, in which Benoy was the punch­bag.

Barry Webb needed to fin­ish the Clas­sic Club­mans race to wear the B-sport crown. His con­ser­va­tive plan so nearly failed at the first cor­ner when An­drew Col­ley’s spin­ning Royale – one of five Sports 2000 in­vi­tees – clipped his De­lapena U2, which felt odd there­after. Webb sol­diered home as ri­val Clive Wood ro­tated on Dave Facer’s oil while lead­ing nar­rowly at Beck­etts, re­ward­ing Facer’s son-in-law Adam Wheeler. Mark Char­teris com­pleted a sea­sonal A-sport clean sweep but it took eight laps for him to un­seat John Har­ri­son.

Ju­lian Stokes scorched his F2 Tecno ahead in Clas­sic Rac­ing Cars but ar­rived at Beck­etts back­wards. While John Mur­phy’s Crossle 22F was just beyond reach, Stokes stormed back to sec­ond. Be­hind the Bda-pow­ered cars, Mark Goodyear (Cas­trol Lo­tus 69) drove the race of his life in the twin­cam split to land third, staving off the Pal­lis­ers of se­ries win­ner Andy Jarvis and Steve Wor­rad. An­drew Hib­berd thrashed His­toric F3 op­po­nents.

Lo­tus Cup ace Adrian Hall (ex-keith Hol­land F5000 Tro­jan) starred in the morn­ing Derek Bell Tro­phy race, pur­su­ing Mark Dwyer’s F2 March after pole­man Jamie Brashaw chose wet tyres for his ex-clive Baker F5000 March on a dry­ing track. Later, Brashaw and Dwyer flew York­shire’s white rose to a one-two, the F5000 tus­sles in their wake adding to a great spec­ta­cle. Martyn Donn (Fat­lantic Lola T760) pipped Neil Glover (F5000 Chevron B37) in the in­ter­nal se­ries.

Ian Pear­son won the damp Clas­sic F3/URS FF2000 race from the lat­ter set, pur­sued by Dave Shaw (ex-nel­son Pi­quet Ralt RT1), Marc Mercer and Andy Jones, whose ex-gabriele Tar­quini Dal­lara 382 demon­strated big po­ten­tial be­fore fuel pick-up prob­lems slowed it. The se­quel was a cracker in which Shaw, CF3 cham­pion Si­mon Jack­son (ex-quirin Bovy Chevron B43) and Keith White (ex-elio de An­ge­lis Ralt RT1) filled the podium.

Rey­nard-mounted Charlie Kemp scored an ac­com­plished His­toric FF2000 de­but win, ha­rassed by the bold Tom White in his volup­tuous Osella. Class B ti­tlist White pun­ished Kemp’s missed gear sec­ond time out, a hugely pop­u­lar vic­tory – a first for the Ital­ian rar­ity – net­ting sec­ond in the table. Gra­ham Ridg­way (Royale) and Andy Storer (Rey­nard) were in the run­ning for sil­ver, but Ridg­way spun at Luffield in the opener when he had 2015 cham­pion, team chief and tail­gun­ner Tom Smith – who started a patched-up RP27 from the pits fol­low­ing Jen­nifer Ridg­way’s URS off – bear­ing down on him.

Pole­man Will Mitcham dropped quin­tu­ple front-en­gined cham­pion Mark Wood­house (Elva) in For­mula Ju­nior’s opener. An­drew Hib­berd (Lola) led into Beck­etts but spun on oil. His charge back past An­drew Tart and Mike Walker (a late spinner at Beck­etts) onto Wood­house’s tail was sen­sa­tional. Later, in his fa­mil­iar Lo­tus 22, Hib­berd won a tight rearengined dice with Cameron Jack­son.

Out­go­ing His­toric Road Sports cham­pion Kevin Kivlochan ner­vously wrig­gled free from Richard Plant’s sis­ter Mor­gan +8 to win Sun­day’s closer as Peter Shaw (Elan) split four Malvern mis­siles. Shaun Had­drell had new cham­pion Dick Cof­fey beaten in class when his Turner jumped out of third gear on the last lap, buzzing its Cli­max en­gine. John Dav­i­son’s wretched late sea­son ended in an­other early bath when his Elan S3’s en­gine died on lap one.

Col­man won the race as ti­tle fight was close

Gard­ner’s Fal­con (l) and Jones’ Cortina bat­tled

Char­teris com­pleted Club­mans clean sweep

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.