Per­rott and Wil­liams tri­umph at Builth Wells

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Si­mon Gronow Re­sults

Or­gan­iser: Here­ford­shire Mo­tor Club When: Novem­ber 5 Where: Builth Wells, Powys Stages: 14 Starters: 55

Af­ter 14 stages over mixed sur­faces, John Per­rott mas­tered the con­di­tions the best to take vic­tory on the Builth Show­ground Stages. Driv­ing his fa­ther’s Ford Es­cort, and part­nered by MSA Acad­emy co-driver Keaton Wil­liams, who took his first out­right win, Per­rott fin­ished the day with an eight­sec­ond ad­van­tage.

De­spite get­ting off to a bad start when they hit a rock on stage one, Len Jones/don James made a late charge in their Ford Es­cort, over­haul­ing the Sun­beam of Chris Pow­ell/jim Lewis on the last test to se­cure sec­ond place.

A punc­ture ru­ined the day for last year’s win­ners Dan Evans/stephen Hodges-small, who had led early on, but they pulled back to fourth at the fin­ish. Evans’ fa­ther Ian, re­tired his sim­i­lar Vaux­hall Nova from a lead­ing po­si­tion with en­gine prob­lems. Round­ing off the top five fin­ish­ers were Wayne and Wil­liam Lloyd in their Ford Es­cort.

Mean­while, 2013 win­ner, Damian Cole, with Sarah Mor­ris along­side on her first event, fin­ished down the field af­ter break­ing a half­shaft on his Ford Es­cort. An­other top run­ner, Sam Davies, re­tired his Vaux­hall Nova hav­ing lost time ear­lier on af­ter get­ting stuck on a bank.

The fa­ther-and-daugh­ter pair­ing of Chris­tian and Carys Prynne won class 3A in their Peu­geot 205. Theo Ben­gry/les Fors­brook took their Ford Es­cort to the His­toric class win, and a 13th placed fin­ish wasn’t un­lucky for Nigel Mee/reg­gie Davies as they won the 1600cc class in their Nova. Dai Bowen/si­mon An­thony were first four-wheel-drive crew in their Subaru Im­preza.

Ryan Cooke won in Evoque-shaped Mil­ner Builth­wells Show­ground Stages

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.