Motor Sport News - - Sporting Scene - By Tim Whit­ting­ton Re­sults

Or­gan­iser: Dar­ling­ton and Dis­trict Mo­tor Club When: Novem­ber 6 Starters: 85

On the kind of day that marks out Croft mar­shals as be­ing the hardi­est in the land, Ir­ish­man John Ward re­tained the BTRDA Club­mans Ral­ly­cross Cham­pi­onship.

Ward qual­i­fied his Peu­geot 106 on pole for the Pro­duc­tion A fi­nal ahead of ti­tle ri­val James Or­ton and lo­cal hot­shoe Martin Peters. When Or­ton and Peters clashed in turn two of the open­ing lap, Ward was able to slip away at the front, im­me­di­ately gain­ing an ad­van­tage over the rest of the field and then driv­ing away to take a clear win. Or­ton worked his way back up the field in a race where sev­eral driv­ers had ex­cur­sions and even­tu­ally placed fifth, but lost the over­all ti­tle to Ward by 2.5 points.

Graham Rum­sey took sec­ond place in the fi­nal, six sec­onds be­hind Ward but with a gap be­tween him­self and Peters with Richard Todd fourth, Colin Ram­say sixth and B fi­nal win­ner Fred Ling sev­enth.

Au­tocross driver Alex Fawcett topped the Su­per­mod­i­fied qual­i­fy­ing or­der twice to take pole for the A fi­nal ahead of Phil Chicken – who non-started af­ter driv­e­line prob­lems – and Tony Lynch.

Michael Boak non-fin­ished Q1 in his Citroen C2 but was fastest in his sec­ond race and made it to the A fi­nal in fourth place, ahead of Todd Crooks. The fi­nal was run in drier con­di­tions than the ear­lier races, enough to turn the ad­van­tage back to the ral­ly­cross cars. Lynch led with Marc Jones zip­ping up from sixth on the grid to run sec­ond in his Toy­ota MR2. Boak was third from B fi­nal win­ner Kieran Cur­ran’s Vaux­hall Corsa, Fawcett and Crooks. Cur­ran sur­vived a tankslap­per at the end of lap one, but lost a po­si­tion to Crooks while sort­ing him­self out. Boak ze­roed in on Lynch through the sec­ond lap and put a pass on the Bri­tish cham­pion at the start of the third. From there, Boak drew out a 10s lead to take the win from Lynch with Crooks third from Cur­ran and Fawcett.

Through qual­i­fy­ing David Bell played sec­ond fid­dle to Mo­tor­sport News’s ral­ly­cross cor­re­spon­dent Hal Ridge among the BMW Minis that ran within the Su­per­mod­i­fied field. How­ever, Bell got the class win af­ter Ridge stopped with tech­ni­cal prob­lems early in the fi­nal.

Lo­cal driv­ers topped the podium in Ju­niors, where Tom Con­stan­tine beat Mor­gan Wroot and the SEAT Arosa of Jaidon Ben­nett .

In Club­man Su­per­car, ‘Mad’ Mark Wat­son brought his Citroen Xsara home ahead of James Lyon.

An­other of the au­tocross gang who had a great day out, Lyon set FTD in Q3 with his Nis­san Sunny GTI-R and kept Wat­son hon­est in the fi­nal.

Gary Simpson took the His­toric win over Lance Foster and Ryan Stutch­bury, the top three com­fort­ably clear of the rest of the field while Leonardo Lyon was just over 16s ahead in the Au­tocross fi­nal.

Ward (right) won Pro­duc­tion

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.