Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - Ian Mills

The in­fa­mous Car­pet­bag­ger Rally was re­vived af­ter a seven-year break as the Bag­ger 17, and was won by the nar­row­est of mar­gins with John Davies/aled Richards beat­ing Richard James/michael Gil­bey by just one sec­ond.

The maze of West Coun­try lanes once again proved a de­mand­ing ter­ri­tory, and one par­tic­u­lar sec­tion caused prob­lems for most crews. James/gil­bey missed a PC, pick­ing up a five-minute penalty, but cleaned the fol­low­ing time con­trol, while Davies/ Richards found the cor­rect route but dropped seven min­utes. The As­tra crew spent the rest of the night claw­ing back the deficit and gained the lead at the fi­nal con­trol of the night. These two crews were well clear of the rest of the field as Dan Wil­lan/ Richard Crozier took third, 11 min­utes be­hind.

It was a tough night with just 25 of the orig­i­nal 48 starters mak­ing the Fin­ish. Amongst the re­tirees were Guy Wood­cock/paul Bos­det, they were go­ing well un­til the rear brakes failed on their Ford Es­cort.

Richard Hem­ming­way/sam Col­lis won the Rye­moor Tro­phy Rally, which opened this year’s north­ern rally sea­son. They took the lead shortly af­ter the petrol halt and, de­spite a hic­cough on the last sec­tion, which cost them two min­utes, came home 14 sec­onds ahead of Stan Feather­stone/ Sasha He­riot.

Bag­ger 17 Or­gan­iser: Vin­tage & Clas­sic Rally Reg­is­ter Date: Jan­uary 21/22 Where: Som­er­set/ Dorset Cham­pi­onships: None Route: 150 Miles Starters: 48. 1 John Davies/aled Richards (Vaux­hall As­tra) 27m26s; 2 Richard James/ Michael Gil­bey (MG ZR) +01s; 3 Dan Wil­lan/ Richard Crozier (Rover 200); 4 Mark Len­nox/ Ian Bea­mond (Ford Es­cort RS); 5 Martin Betts/ Richard Hage (Pro­ton Sa­tria); 6 Phil Har­ris/ Ross Whit­tock (Dai­hatsu Sirion); 7 Nic Morris/ Martin Phasey (Es­cort); 8 Lu­cas Red­wood/ Rob Ne­wall (Es­cort); 9 Mike East/ Paul Tay­lor (Rover 200); 10 Steve Brew/ Brian Cam­mack (Ford Puma). Class win­ners: Pat Thomas/ Mark But­ler (Es­cort). Rye­moor Tro­phy Rally

Or­gan­iser: Mal­ton Mo­tor Club Date: Jan­uary 21/22 Where: York­shire Cham­pi­onships: ANNC, EMAMC & ANEMMC Route: 135 Miles

Starters: 31. 1 Richard Hem­ming­way/ Sam Col­lis (Pro­ton Sa­tria GTI) 21m24s; 2 Stan Feather­stone/ Sasha He­riot (Peugeot 205 GTI) +14s; 3 Adrian Green/ Ian Gib­bins (Sa­tria); 4 Be­van Blacker/ Niall Frost (Peugeot 106); 5 Phil Bur­ton/ Mike Petch (Sa­tria); 6 Richard Hunter/ Gary Evans (Ford Es­cort); 7 Adam Camp­bell/ Si­mon Tay­lor (205); 8 Pete Tyson/ Neil Har­ri­son (Mini Cooper S); 9 Chris Faulkner/trevor Faulkner (Ford Fo­cus); 10 Martin Payne/ Sarah Lindsey Payne (Dae­woo Lanos).

Class win­ners: Camp­bell/tay­lor; Danny Sadler/ Aldis Blacker (Citroen Saxo VTR).

Davies/richards’ As­tra

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.