Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Ian Har­den

Or­gan­iser: Club Rally Sport West When: Jan­uary 27/28 Where: Brean Leisure Park, Burn­ham-on-sea Cham­pi­onships: ASWMC; AWMMC Starters: 71 Stages: 12 Six stage wins in suc­ces­sion on the open­ing day of the Brean Stages Rally sealed vic­tory for Ar­ron Newby/ An­drew Leech (Subaru Im­preza), ahead of Jim Mun­den/ Nick Ec­cles (Im­preza) and Thomas Cooper/ Ian Davis (Mit­subishi Lancer E9) in third. Steady rain on day one made the stage sur­face ex­tremely slip­pery, but Newby set a storm­ing early pace and his cause was aided by ri­vals hav­ing prob­lems. Steve and Yvonne Furze­land went wrong at a stage split on SS1 in­cur­ring a stage max­i­mum, while Josh Pay­ton/mar­cus Mizen (Ford Es­cort Mk2) col­lided with a tyre wall and then spun. By half­way Newby led by 42s from Cooper, with Phil Turner/si­mon An­thony (Lancer E9) in third.

Day two was drier, mak­ing cor­rect tyre choice crit­i­cal. Run­ning new Pirelli wets, Newby set a con­sis­tent series of sec­ond­fastest times to seal the event.

Mun­den’s newly fit­ted se­quen­tial gear­box proved cru­cial in claim­ing sec­ond place, de­spite try­ing to start SS6 in neu­tral.

Cooper fin­ished third, us­ing the same set of wets through­out and swap­ping them from front to rear in his first event out­side Pem­brey.

Furze­land fought back hard to fin­ish fourth: hav­ing lost over two min­utes driv­ing an ex­tra lap on Satur­day he matched Newby’s six wins from six stages record on Sun­day. Af­ter Turner’s dif­fer­en­tial broke on SS8, caus­ing his re­tire­ment, Richard Bar­row/ An­drew Richards claimed fifth and spent the rally get­ting used to their new Im­preza’s ex­tra speed and grip. WRC and in­ter­na­tional co-driver Dai Roberts con­tin­ued his im­pres­sive form in the driver’s seat, set­ting sec­ond-fastest time to Newby on one stage, in his fron­twheel-drive Peu­geot 205. He re­tired af­ter be­ing baulked by another com­peti­tor, and with fears for the head gas­ket.


1 Ar­ron Newby/an­drew Leech (Subaru Im­preza) 1h03m15s; 2 Jim Mun­den/ Nick Ec­cles (Im­preza) +1m11s; 3 Thomas Cooper/ Ian Davis (Mit­subishi Lancer E9); 4 Steve Furze­land/yvonne Furze­land (Im­preza S12 WRC); 5 Richard Bar­row/an­drew Richards (Im­preza); 6 Josh Pay­ton/ Mar­cus Mizen (Ford Es­cort Mk2); 7 Kev Carr/ Chris Pip­pen (Es­cort Mk2); 8 Rick Bliss/jamie Vaughan (Honda Civic); 9 Stuart Bliss/ Richard Marsh (Civic); 10 Mark Row­lands/ Richard Ma­son (Es­cort Mk2). Class win­ners: Paul Davis/ Keith Rich­ings (Vaux­hall Corsa); Bliss/ Vaughan; Pay­ton/ Mizen; Carr/ Pip­pen; Newby/ Leech.

Photo: Wil­liam Neill, Kevin Money, He­len Hark­ness

Newby won his first event of 2018

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.