McGar­rity wins, allen con­tin­ues to im­press

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Wil­liam Neill

Or­gan­iser: Ul­ster Au­to­mo­bile Club When: Jan­uary 27 Where: Kirk­istown Rac­ing Cir­cuit, County Down Starters: 50 Stages: 6 Af­ter four stages of the New Year Stages Rally, Derek Mcgar­rity and Paddy Robin­son had enough in hand to ease off when rain sat­u­rated the cir­cuit, and still win by 23.4s in one of four Subaru Im­preza S14 WRC en­tries.

Mark Massey and Niall Burns were quick­est on the partly flooded SS5 in their S14 WRC and Philip Allen, who had his rally de­but at the same venue just un­der a year prior, was ea­gerly hunt­ing the po­si­tion in a first Ford Fi­esta R5 out­ing. With a stage to go four sec­onds was the dif­fer­ence.

Allen, de­spite a mi­nor over­shoot, was quick­est on the last stage to get the gap to sec­ond down to one sec­ond. It was only the Cook­stown driver’s fifth rally, which in­cludes both an over­all and Group N vic­tory.

The last man to beat Mcgar­rity, who now has three in a row, at the New Year Stages was Kenny Mckinstry. It was fourth for the 2015 win­ner this time giv­ing Eathan Mc­col­gan his first WRC Car co-driv­ing po­si­tion, 23.8s from Allen but the place se­cured by al­most the same at 23.6s.

In fifth, af­ter a steady start, Paddy Mcveigh got closer to reg­u­lars over the course of the day, and was ahead of Kevin Bar­rett by the end.


1 Derek Mcgar­rity/ Paddy Robin­son (Subaru Im­preza S14 WRC) 27m29s; 2 Mark Massey/ Niall Burns (Im­preza S14 WRC) +23s; 3 Philip Allen/ Martin Con­nolly (Ford Fi­esta R5); 4 Kenny Mckinstry/ Eathan Mc­col­gan (Im­preza S14 WRC); 5 Paddy Mcveigh/ Gary Mcel­hin­ney (Im­preza S12B WRC); 6 Kevin Bar­rett/ Sean Mul­lally (Im­preza S14 WRC); 7 James Laverty/ Paul Hughes (Im­preza N12B); 8 Alan Atch­e­son/ Mickey Con­lon (Ford Fi­esta 4WD); 9 Kieron Graf­fin/ Caron Mccor­mack (Fi­esta R5); 10 Barry Mor­ris/ Declan Camp­bell (Ford Es­cort Mk2).

Class win­ners: Laverty/ Hughes; Ron­nie Mcconnell/ Rachel Mcconnell (Nis­san Mi­cra); Kyle White/ Sean Top­ping (Peu­geot 208); Jamie Grant/ Ray­mond Coulter (Toy­ota Star­let); Mor­ris/ Camp­bell; Atch­e­son/ Con­lon; Mcgar­rity/ Robin­son; Massey/ Burns; Olivia Coulter/jonny Cham­bers (Ford Anglia).

Mcgar­rity is al­ways tough to beat at Kirk­istown

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.