Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

Sin­gle-seater pow­er­house Carlin has cho­sen to take a sab­bat­i­cal from the Bri­tish For­mula 4 Cham­pi­onship.

The team has taken the de­ci­sion due to its new com­mit­ments in the Indy­car Series, as well as its re­turn to For­mula 2 (for­merly GP2) for 2018 af­ter a one-year ab­sence. The team will con­tinue with ex­ist­ing pro­grammes in the For­mula 3 Euro­pean Cham­pi­onship, Euro for­mula Open, BRDC Bri­tish F3 and Indy Lights. It has left the door open to re­turn­ing to F4 next year.

Carlin was one of the first teams to com­mit to FIA F4 when the Ford-backed series was in­tro­duced for 2015, ini­tially as MSA For­mula. The team ran Lando Nor­ris to the ’15 ti­tle, then Max Fewtrell in ’16 and Jamie Caro­line last year. It has won 37 of the 90 Bri­tish F4 races (in­clud­ing MSA For­mula) held to date. A Carlin spokesper­son told

MN: “Due to an in­crease in the num­ber of pro­grammes the team is in­volved in this sea­son, we will be tak­ing a sab­bat­i­cal from Bri­tish F4 in 2018. Hav­ing won ev­ery teams’ and driv­ers’ ti­tle since the series’ in­cep­tion in 2015, we’re ob­vi­ously very sad to miss the 2018 sea­son, but will watch with in­ter­est the next batch of F4 stars com­ing through the ranks.

“We will con­tinue to make our F4 cars avail­able for test­ing through­out the year and in prepa­ra­tion for 2019. We’d like to thank the or­gan­is­ers of Bri­tish F4 and Ford Per­for­mance for their sup­port over the last three sea­sons and look for­ward to re­join­ing the series in the fu­ture.”

Sin­gle-seater gi­ant is out of F4

Pho­tos: Jakob Ebrey, Steve Jones

Caro­line won 2017 ti­tle

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.