Clyde awards at the Town Hall

Honours for play­ers past and present

Rutherglen Reformer - - Motors - Staff re­porter

Ruther­glen Town Hall was the venue for Clyde’s an­nual awards func­tion.

For the first time, the event saw an in­te­gra­tion of the of­fi­cial Clyde FC Player of the Year awards, along­side the an­nual pre­sen­ta­tions by the Castlemilk Branch and Ex­ec­u­tive Club and the popular Hall of Fame in­duc­tion.

New awards also made their de­but, namely Goal of the Sea­son, Youth and Com­mu­nity Coach award and a Sup­porter Recog­ni­tion award.

In ad­di­tion, a spe­cial pre­sen­ta­tion was made to ac­knowl­edge the Clyde ca­reer of physio Iain McKin­lay, who re­cently an­nounced his de­par­ture from the club af­ter 13 years of ser­vice.

The Bully Wee’s first choice goal­keeper Alan Martin was a big win­ner on the night, tak­ing the main Player of the Year tro­phy and an­other two awards.

Clyde leg­end Brian Ah­ern was ac­claimed as he was in­ducted to the club’s Hall of Fame. The for­mer Bully Wee stal­wart, who was joined by his fam­ily, was quick to praise a “beau­ti­ful evening’” which in­cluded heart­felt trib­utes from for­mer team­mates Dom Sul­li­van and Jim Dempsey.

The full list of award re­cip­i­ents is as fol­lows: • Player of the Year: Alan Martin • Young Player of the Year: Scott Fer­gu­son • Goal of the Sea­son: Brian McQueen • Castlemilk Branch Player of the Year: Alan Martin

• Ex­ec­u­tive Club Player of the Year: Alan Martin

• Youth and Com­mu­nity Coach Award: Stephen Muck­alt

• Sup­porter Recog­ni­tion Award: Davie Pater­son

• Spe­cial Recog­ni­tion Award: Iain McKin­lay • Hall of Fame In­ductee: Brian Ah­ern Event or­gan­iser, club direc­tor Gor­don Nis­bet said: “As with any event of this na­ture, the amount of vol­un­tary time self­lessly given by Clyde minded in­di­vid­u­als re­ally should not go un­no­ticed and, on be­half of the club, I would like to thank the fol­low­ing for their per­sonal in­put into the pre­sen­ta­tion that made the evening such a suc­cess; joint hosts of the night, club his­to­rian Gor­don ‘Syd’ Syd­ney, club chap­lain Rev John McKin­non and the un­her­alded Clyde me­dia team of Gra­ham Forrest, An­drew Muir and James Turn­bull.”


Brian Ah­ern has joined the Clyde Hall of Fame

In safe hands Clyde keeper Alan Martin was 2015 Player of the Year

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.