Heritage trail on your doorstep
Fascinating finds in Strath and beyond
Those heading out on the Doors Open Days trail this weekend can enjoy exploring a variety of historic buildings on the Strath’s doorstep.
Cultybraggan Camp: Comrie Heritage Group invites you to see inside several of the 80 Nissen huts not normally open to the public, to discover the history of the camp and the plans to preserve its heritage.
There will be guided tours on Saturday and Sunday between 11am and 4pm. Highlights of the weekend include: Living the Life of a German PoW, military vehicles and exhibitions; and book signings by Valerie Campbell, author of ‘Camp 21 Comrie’.
Gleneagles House, St Mungo’s Chapel and former Castle, Gleneagles: Enjoy a guided tour of the 17th/18th century laird’s house, home to the Haldanes of Gleneagles. Visitors will also have the opportunity to visit the early 16th century chapels.
Booking is essential for the guided tours at 11am and 2.30pm. Visit www. dod_gleneagles.eventbrite.co.uk for more information.
The Library of Innerpeffrey: Explore Scotland’s first free public lending library ( 1680) with the Keeper of Books and her team in the beautiful Georgian building next to the River Earn and Innerpeffray Chapel. Contact 01764 652819 or library@ innerpeffraylibrary.co.uk.
The Grounds of Old St Michael’s Church, Crieff: On Saturday between 1pm and 5pm, enjoy music from the Blackford Fiddlers, storytelling and songs from local author Jessie Smith and historical interpretation by historian Colin Mayall.
Tibbermore Church : An atmospheric church with medieval origins set in a fascinating walled graveyard. Open Saturday and Sunday from 11am to 4pm. On Saturday, for Outlander fans, hear about filming at the church and more about this hugely popular series. On Sunday, explore the church and graveyard.
Drummond Castle Keep: An impressive tower- house built on a rocky outcrop by John, the 1st Lord Drummond in the late- 15th century, now part of the extensive Drummond Castle. The Renaissancestyle gatehouse by John Mylne III, Charles I’s master mason, was added circa 1630. The keep was damaged by Cromwell and was dismantled further after the 1745 Rebellion to prevent Government troops using it as a garrison.
It was repaired in 1822, with an upper floor and bell-cote added in 1853. Drummond Castle is world famous for its remarkable gardens.
Open Saturday and Sunday from 2pm to 4pm.
Earthquake House, Comrie: This small building was built in 1874 to house a seismoscope to register earthquake shocks. It was the first purpose- built earthquake observatory in the western hemisphere and attempted to record the ground movements in this part of the world which led to Comrie being known as the ‘Shaky Toon’. A modern seismograph from the British Geological Survey now operates inside the building and records earthquakes from locations all around the globe.
St Andrew’s Church, Forteviot: St Andrew’s Church has a long history: from 6th century AD Christian burials in the graveyard, links with Kenneth Macalpin, the 9th Century AD king who unified the Picts and Scots, to St Andrews University patronage after the reformation. Archaeological artefacts of major significance are housed within the church including several Pictish carved stones which recently formed the centrepiece of the Cradle of Scotland exhibition shown in Glasgow and Perth. Open Sunday from 11am to 4pm.
Historic Drummond Castle Keep Wartime
Renowned The Library of Innerpeffray