The Football League Paper - - NEWS - By Tom Black­ett

THE EFL have con­firmed that board mem­ber James Rod­well will con­tinue to rep­re­sent EFL clubs on the FA board this sea­son.

Fol­low­ing re­cent FA gov­er­nance re­forms, the EFL is now able to nom­i­nate only one rep­re­sen­ta­tive to the FA board and Rod­well’s ap­point­ment was con­firmed unan­i­mously at last week’s EFL board meet­ing.

In ad­di­tion, the EFL and the Premier League will jointly ap­point a third board mem­ber to rep­re­sent both or­gan­i­sa­tions in due course.

Rod­well was first ap­pointed onto the FA board in 2016 and has been an EFL di­rec­tor since 2013. He will con­tinue to ful­fil th­ese roles along­side his du­ties as chief ex­ec­u­tive of Scun­thorpe United.

He said: “I am de­lighted to have been handed the op­por­tu­nity to once again rep­re­sent my col­leagues from across the EFL on the FA board. It is an hon­our to have their back­ing and I look for­ward to rep­re­sent­ing the EFL’s in­ter­ests and its clubs in this role.

”I would like to ex­press my sin­cere thanks to the chair­man and di­rec­tors of Scun­thorpe United for al­low­ing me to con­tinue on the board of the FA.”

The EFL also pro­vide six mem­bers on the FA coun­cil, with EFL clubs con­tin­u­ing to ap­point two non-EFL board mem­bers as in pre­vi­ous sea­sons.

Steve Cur­wood (Fleet­wood) and Ka­trien Meire (Charl­ton) have been elected to the FA coun­cil fol­low­ing a bal­lot amongst the EFL’s clubs for 2017/18.

The re­main­ing four places are to be filled with rep­re­sen­ta­tives from the EFL board, with EFL chair­man Ian Le­na­gan be­ing joined by Jez Moxey (Bur­ton), John Nixon (Carlisle) and Rod­well.

In ad­di­tion, Rob Coar (Black­burn) and Moxey will rep­re­sent the EFL on the Foot­ball Reg­u­la­tory Au­thor­ity while Cliff Crown (Brent­ford), Le­na­gan, Nixon and Rod­well will sit on the Pro­fes­sional Game Board.

ROLE: James Rod­well

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.