Some in­ter­est­ing facts . . .

The Oban Times - - Sport -

THE Ca­manachd Cup was first played for in 1896 with Kin­gussie beat­ing Glas­gow Cowal 2- 0 at Needle­field Park, In­ver­ness.

At present, the tour­na­ment is con­tested by the el­i­gi­ble teams in North and South Divi­sion 1 and from 2014, Na­tional Divi­sion One, to­gether with the teams in the Marine Har­vest Premier­ship, who join the com­pe­ti­tion at the sec­ond round stage.

Tra­di­tion­ally, the tro­phy was com­peted for on a North/South ba­sis with the best team from the north fac­ing the best team from the south in the fi­nal.

How­ever, in 1983. the open draw was in­tro­duced which re­sulted in the first, and un­til 2012, the only all-south fi­nal, be­tween Kyles and Stra­chur. 1984 saw the first ever all-north fi­nal and first ever fi­nal clash be­tween Bade­noch ri­vals, Kin­gussie and New­ton­more.

Four teams have won the tro­phy three times in a row, New­ton­more, Kin­gussie, Kyles Ath­letic and Fort Wil­liam.

The tro­phy it­self was made af­ter pub­lic do­na­tion in 1896 and, as be­fits such a Blue Riband event, the cup is de­signed and con­structed by Hamil­ton and Inches, Ed­in­burgh. The player on the lid was mod­elled from Jock Dal­las who played for Kin­gussie.

In 2006, the an­cient tro­phy made its way to New York City for the Tar­tan Day cel­e­bra­tions, the first time it had ever left Scot­land.

The fi­nal is usu­ally played on a ro­ta­tion sys­tem, with An Aird in Fort Wil­liam, the Bught Park in In­ver­ness and Moss­field Sta­dium in Oban host­ing the fi­nal. In re­cent years the fi­nal has also been held in Dunoon and at Old An­nies­land in Glas­gow.

The 2011 fi­nal was the first ever to go to ex­tra time; no fi­nal has ever re­quired penal­ties.

The Man of the Match has been awarded the Al­bert Smith Medal since 1972.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.