Fin­lay wins Aonach Mor New Year race

The Oban Times - - Sport -

MORE than 100 hardy souls pulled on their run­ning shoes for the an­nual Aonach Mor Up­hill Race on New Year’s Day in cold but dry con­di­tions.

Fin­lay Wild of or­gan­is­ers Lochaber Ath­letic Club (LAC) took first place, fin­ish­ing the four kilo­me­tre Ne­vis Range route in 21 min­utes and 53 sec­onds. Fel­low LAC mem­ber Ewan Thor­burn was sec­ond in 23 min­utes and 22 sec­onds, fol­lowed by James Espie of Dee­side Run­ners in 24 min­utes and 10 sec­onds.

It was a dou­ble whammy for Dee­side as the club’s Stephanie Provan was first lady home in 27 min­utes and 52 sec­onds but Lochaber ladies weren’t far be­hind as LAC’s Diane Baum fin­ished sec­ond in 31 min­utes and 48 sec­onds, fol­lowed by Suzy Devey, also of LAC, in 32 min­utes and four sec­onds.

Reg­is­tra­tion The next club race will be the River Park Splodge at Glen Ne­vis on Sun­day Jan­uary 10. Reg­is­tra­tion will be held at the Lower Falls car park from 10am with the field set­ting off at 11am.

Top 20 fin­ish­ers (LAC un­less oth­er­wise stated): 1 Fin­lay Wild 21:53; 2 Ewan Thor­burn 23:22; 3 James Espie (Dee­side Run­ners) 24:10; 4 An­drew Bar­ring­ton 24:29; 5 Peter Henry (Dee­side Run­ners) 24:56; 6 Jon Gay 25:43; 7 Stu­art Crutch­field 25:53; 8 Cal­lum Fraser 26:27; 9 Steven Burns 26:32; 10 Manuel Gor­man ( Wester­lands Cross Coun­try Club) 26:35; 11 John Urquhart (Spey Run­ners) 27:00; 12 Alan Smith (Dee­side Run­ners) 27:19; 13 Andy Bryce (Hilling­don AC) 27:25; 14 Stephanie Provan (Dee­side Run­ners) 27:52; 15 Stu­art Mal­colm (High­land Hill Run­ners) 28:11; 16 Steven Fal­lon (Car­nethy Hill RC) 28:35; 17 Ste­wart Wil­son (In­ver­ness Har­ri­ers) 28:41; 18 Gavin MacMil­lan 28:56; 19 Felix Mad­di­son (un­at­tached) 29:00; 20 Ge­off Simp­son (Hun­ters Bog Trot­ters) 29:04.

ON THE RUN: A 102-strong field made its way up Aonach Mor on New Year’s Day, led by Fin­lay Wild, left.

WIN­NER: Fin­lay Wild storms to the fin­ish line.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.