Can­di­dates hop­ing to win elec­tion

The Oban Times - - Front Page -

NOM­I­NA­TIONS for elec­tion to Ar­gyll and Bute Coun­cil have been an­nounced – see­ing a to­tal of 18 can­di­dates in Oban wards for eight coun­cil seats.

Ar­gyll and Bute Coun­cil has 36 coun­cil­lors who serve in 11 dif­fer­ent wards across the area. Not re­turn­ing to the bal­lot pa­per is coun­cil leader Dick Walsh, bring­ing to an end the Dunoon-based ex-milk­man’s decades- old dom­i­nance in the lo­cal au­thor­ity.

On the bal­lot pa­per is war vet­eran Don­nie MacMil­lan, who, if elected, will be the old­est coun­cil­lor in Scot­land.

In Oban North and Lorn and Oban South and Isles there are four coun­cil­lors in each ward, with eight can­di­dates stand­ing in the Oban South and the Isles ward, and 10 stand­ing in Oban North and Lorn. Vot­ing takes place on May 4 but not in South Kin­tyre as the num­ber of can­di­dates matches the va­can­cies.

Oban South and the Isles: Jake Ain­scough (Scot­tish Labour Party), Mary-Jean Devon (In­de­pen­dent), Jim Lynch (Scot­tish Na­tional Party), Alister MacDougall (In­de­pen­dent), Sean MacIn­tyre (Scot­tish Na­tional Party), Roddy McCuish (In­de­pen­dent), Jamie McGrigor (Scot­tish Con­ser­va­tive and Union­ist), David Pol­lard (Scot­tish Lib­eral Democrats).

Oban North and Lorn: Brian Bur­nett (In­de­pen­dent), Kieron Green (In­de­pen­dent), Neil MacKay (In­de­pen­dent), Julie MacKen­zie (Scot­tish Na­tional Party), Al­lan McKie (In­de­pen­dent), Wil­liam Mo­hied­deen (Scot­tish Greens), Grant Ni­chol­son (In­de­pen­dent), Elaine Robertson (In­de­pen­dent), Breege Smyth (Scot­tish Na­tional Party), Andrew Ven­nard (Scot­tish Con­ser­va­tive and Union­ist).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.