Portree high win Leanachan Chal­lenge

The Oban Times - - Sport -

THIS year’s Leanachan Chal­lenge saw 55 pupils tak­ing part in the an­nual race.

Or­gan­is­ers were de­lighted at the turn out this year with run­ners from Lochaber High School, Mal­laig High School, Ard­na­mur­chan High School, Glenurquhart High School and Portree High School tak­ing part.

The first Leanachan Chal­lenge for all was the brain­child of the late Pro­fes­sor Peter English, a trustee of Lochaber Ru­ral Ed­u­ca­tion Trust, and was held in 2008.

S1/ 2 run­ners ran 3.8km, S3/4 ran 6.2 km and S5/6 ran 7.6 km along a gen­uine ‘cross coun­try’ path com­plete with mud, tree roots and nar­row bridges.

There were medals for all the run­ners tak­ing part with tro­phies for the first, sec­ond and third boy and girl in each cat­e­gory, a cup for the fastest boy and girl and a shield for the over­all win­ning team.

This year the school shield went to Portree High School.

The cup for fastest girl went to Melissa Mack from Glenurquhart High School, who ran the 3.8km-route in 15.43 min­utes.

The shield for fastest boy went to Ben John­stone from Lochaber High School who ran the 6.2km-route in 23.38 min­utes.

The win­ning places in the S1/ 2 cat­e­gory were, girls: 1 girl Melissa Mack, Glenurquhart, 2 Bethan White, Ard­na­mur­chan, 3 Mia McGil­lvray, Portree.

Boys: 1 Joe Jones, Portree, 2 Innes Orr, Lochaber, 3 Eric Robin­son, Glenurquhart.

S3/4 Cat­e­gory, girls: 1 Re­becca John­stone, Lochaber, 2 Amy Stod­dart, Lochaber, 3 Emily Mathieson, Portree.

Boys: 1 Ben John­stone, Lochaber, 2 Cameron Mac­in­tosh, Glenurquhart, 3 An­gus Moss, Mal­laig.

S5/ 6 Cat­e­gory, girls: 1 girl Mairi Dun­can, Lochaber, 2girl Elaine Deas, Portree, 3 girl Gaia Jones, Portree.

Boys: 1 Andrew Grieve, Portree, 2 Christopher Pi­ras, Glenurquhart, 3 Chisolm Campbell, Portree.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.