Fort young­sters win na­tional tour­na­ment

The Oban Times - - Sport -

A LIVELY squad of 20 young­sters rep­re­sent­ing Fort Wil­liam Foot­ball Youth De­vel­op­ment (FWFYD) headed down to Ayr­shire on Fri­day morn­ing and, by Sun­day af­ter­noon, had won their sec­tion, com­pet­ing against 15 other teams from Scot­land and Ire­land.

The pool of un­der-13 play­ers had been in­vited to take part in the 40th Ayr In­ter­na­tional Scot­land Cup com­pe­ti­tion. They trav­elled south by minibus and in a fleet of fam­ily cars.

The Ayr In­ter­na­tional Scot­land Cup is the old­est grass­roots tour­na­ment in the UK and the third old­est in Europe.

Danny Con­lon, head of FWFYD, ad­vised: ‘ This is a very pres­ti­gious tour­na­ment, em­brac­ing 140 clubs through­out the UK. It gave our lads an in­sight into how other clubs op­er­ate and play – as this was a first- off in­volve­ment for us.

‘Much of the fi­nanc­ing of the trip was made pos­si­ble by the Youth De­vel­op­ment’s own fundrais­ing, and by gen­er­ous do­na­tions from the Ro­tary Club of Lochaber and Ma­rine Har­vest.’

The Un­der-13s won the Ayr Tro­phy which is com­peted for by 16 youth teams from Scot­land and Ire­land. They beat Moyra FC, their Ir­ish coun­ter­parts, 3-1 in the fi­nal, lift­ing the tro­phy and the ac­com­pa­ny­ing medals.

This tour­na­ment comes hard on the heels of FWFYD’s an­nual pre­sen­ta­tion of awards at Fort Wil­liam Golf Club. And, af­ter the tro­phies and medals had been handed out, a race night was held which raised a splen­did £2,235.

Ro­tary Club pres­i­dent Paula Ross con­grat­u­lated the Un­der-13 team in win­ning the Un­der-13 Tro­phy and bring­ing hon­our to Lochaber.

Paula added: ‘We had no hes­i­ta­tion in award­ing fund­ing to help FWFYD at­tend this im­por­tant event. We sup­port the aims of de­vel­op­ing skill and par­tic­i­pa­tion in sport, fos­ter­ing friend­ship while hav­ing fun and en­joy­ment.’

Un­der-10 Player of the Year Ryan Hunter, Most Im­proved Ben Brit­ton, Un­der-11 Player of the Year Con­nor Cameron, Most Im­proved An­gus Thom­son, Un­der-13 Player of the Year Rob­bie Ry­d­ings, Most Im­proved Ben MacDon­ald and Alec Mor­ri­son, Un­der-15 Player of the Year Kyle Dig­nan, Most Im­proved Hec­tor MacLean, Un­der-17 Player of the Year Steven Neil and Most Im­proved Calum MacLean.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.