Taynuilt Sports Field Satur­day June 24 2017 Throw up: 4pm

The Oban Times - - Fea­tures -

The 113th Gre­gor Cameron Glas­gow Celtic So­ci­ety Cup Fi­nal be­tween Kyles Ath­letic and Oban Ca­manachd takes place at Taynuilt Sports Field on Satur­day June 24.

This tour­na­ment is open to all south se­nior sides play­ing in shinty’s top three tiers. Glas­gow Cowal were in­au­gu­ral win­ners in 1879.

Holders Kyles Ath­letic are go­ing for ‘ five- in-a- row’ with Grant Irvine and Gor­don Whyte both scor­ing four times in a re­sound­ing 18- 0 quar­ter- fi­nal vic­tory over Kil­mory. This se­cured a semi- fi­nal against Glas­gow Mid Ar­gyll which Kyles won 3- 0 cour­tesy of a Scott Mac­Don­ald dou­ble and a Thomas Whyte goal. Sandy MacKen­zie has been an in­jury con­cern for Kyles in the lead- up to the fi­nal.

Kyles have made an al­most per­fect start to the sea­son. The only game they’ve failed to win was a 1-1 draw with fi­nal­ists Oban Ca­manachd at Tighnabru­aich.

Roddy Mac­Don­ald put Kyles ahead in that one but Daniel MacVicar equalised.

Oban Ca­manachd last won the fa­mous tro­phy in 2005 and were run­ners- up a cou­ple of years ago, los­ing to Kyles Ath­letic in the fi­nal. They were given a walkover against Tay­forth in this year’s quar­ter- fi­nals be­fore beat­ing 2016 run­ners- up In­ver­aray 1- 0 in the last four of the tour­na­ment with Daniel Cameron scor­ing. Oban Ca­manachd’s Scott MacMil­lan will be re­lieved he is able to serve a one- match sus­pen­sion against Oban Celtic this week­end, leav­ing him free to play in the fi­nal.

Ca­manachd As­so­ci­a­tion Grade 1 of­fi­cial Lachie Wood will be the match ref­eree and the Don­ald J MacNiven Me­mo­rial Medal will be awarded to the man of the match.

With the big day loom­ing, Archie Robert­son from the Glas­gow Celtic So­ci­ety said: ‘ We are look­ing for­ward to a great day at Taynuilt fol­low­ing the suc­cess of re­cent fi­nals at this su­perb venue. We thank spon­sors Gre­gor Cameron for their sup­port over the past three years. We’ve also had a suc­cess­ful part­ner­ship with Taynuilt Sports Coun­cil and Taynuilt Shinty Club. Their co- op­er­a­tion in the lead- up to the big day is much ap­pre­ci­ated. Kyles Ath­letic and Oban Ca­manachd are two very good sides and there’s great in­ter­est in the game so I’m sure it will be an en­ter­tain­ing fi­nal.’

This will be Gre­gor Cameron’s fi­nal year of a suc­cess­ful three-year spon­sor­ship deal so the or­gan­is­ers are on the look­out for a re­place­ment.

At the fi­nal on June 24, the Glas­gow Celtic So­ci­ety will hon­our the win­ning team from 50 years ago when Kyles Ath­letic beat Glas­gow Mid Ar­gyll 3-2 at Yoker. Alas­dair Turner had put GMA ahead that day in 1967, but Scott Turner and Tommy Ni­col­son’s brace had Kyles 3-1 up be­fore Kenny MacNiven’s late counter. The win­ning Kyles Ath­letic team was: John Pater­son; Alas­dair MacRae; Roddy Car­swell; Chic Jamieson; Scott Turner; Stu­art David­son; Kerr Craw­ford; Jim Jamieson; Tommy Ni­col­son; Neil Blair; Don­ald Shaw and Rus­sell Thor­burn and the sur­viv­ing veter­ans able to make this year’s fi­nal will be in­tro­duced to the crowd.

Throw- up is at 4pm and the fi­nal will be broad­cast live on BBC Alba.

Pho­to­graph: Kevin McG­lynn. Pho­to­graph: Paul Pater­son.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.