‘Johnny is a typ­i­cal teenager. ... But he has some­thing other kids don’t have. Like his fa­ther, he has no fear of fail­ure.’

Austin American-Statesman - - C SPORTS - By Suzanne Hal­libur­ton shal­libur­ton@states­man.com Manziel AG­GIES AND THE HEIS­MAN JOHNNY FOOT­BALL, GAME-BY-GAME Game Pass­ing 2012 HEIS­MAN TRO­PHY CER­E­MONY Rush­ing 2011 win­ner: TV: DAVE EINSEL / AS­SO­CI­ATED PRESS

KEr­rvILLE — Texas kicker Justin Tucker’s 40-yard field goal on the fi­nal play of the 2011 Texas-Texas A&M game hushed what had been a bois­ter­ous Kyle Field crowd that had hoped to cel­e­brate an Ag­gies vic­tory 13 months ago.

Now, flash for­ward to cur­rent times, for a brief game of hind­sight.

Let’s ex­am­ine how that Nov. 24, 2011 kick set into mo­tion a chain of events to what could be a huge maroon and white cel­e­bra­tion this Satur­day, when Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel is ex­pected to win the Heis­man Tro­phy in a New York cer­e­mony.

If Tucker misses that field goal, maybe Manziel’s not in New York City.

“I’d like to hunt that kicker down and buy him a beer. We wouldn’t be talk­ing about this Heis­man deal if it weren’t for that kick,” pro­claimed Jim Mun­cie, a Ker­rville home builder, long-time A&M fan and a good friend of the Manziel fam­ily.

Here’s Mun­cie’s Heis­man logic: A week af­ter the Longhorns’ 27-25 vic­tory, Texas A&M fired head coach Mike Florida 20, A&M 17 A&M 48,SMU 3 A&M 70, S. Carolina St. 14 A&M 58,Arkansas 10 A&M 30, Ole Miss 27 A&M 59, La.Tech 57 LSU 24,A&M 19 A&M 63,Auburn 21 A&M 38, Miss. St. 13 A&M 29,Alabama 24 A&M 47, Sam Hous­ton St. 28 A&M 59, Mis­souri 29 Texas A&M has had five pre­vi­ous top-10 fin­ishes in the Heis­man Tro­phy vot­ing, in­clud­ing John David Crow, who won it in 1957: 1991: Bucky richard­son (10th) 1990: Dar­ren Lewis (8th) 1957: John David Crow (1st) 1940: John Kim­brough (2nd) 1939: John Kim­brough (5th) 23-30-173, 0/0 20-36-294, 4/0 15-20-174, 3/0 29-38-453, 3/0 17-26-191, 1/2 24-40-395, 3/1 29-56-276, 0/3 16-23-260, 2/0 30-36-311, 0/0 24-31-253, 2/0 14-20-267, 3/1 32-44-372, 3/1 17-60-1 13-133-2 8-78-2 14-104-1 20-129-1 19-181-3 17-27-0 9-90-3 21-129-2 18-92-0 16-100-2 12-67-2 When: Satur­day, 7 p.m. Where: ra­dio City Mu­sic Hall, New York ESPN Fi­nal­ists: Kansas State quar­ter­back Collin Klein, Texas A&M quar­ter­back Johnny Manziel, Notre Dame mid­dle line­backer Manti Te’o

robert Grif­fin III

1957 AP

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.