Kansas dom­i­nates Big 12 awards; UT’s Allen third team

Austin American-Statesman - - SPORTS - Amer­i­can-States­man staff

Big 12 cham­pion Kansas dom­i­nated the con­fer­ence’s post­sea­son awards an­nounced Sun­day, with Bill Self named coach of the year, Frank Ma­son III player of the year and Josh Jack­son fresh­man of the year.

Texas fresh­man Jar­rett Allen made the All-Big 12 third team and the all-new­comer team. No other Longhorns were hon­ored.

West Vir­ginia’s Jevon Carter was de­fen­sive player of the year, and team­mate Tarik Phillip won the sixth man award. Manu Le­comte of Bay­lor was new­comer of the year.

The All-Big 12 awards are se­lected by the head coaches, who may not vote for their own play­ers.

On the All-Big 12 first team were Ma­son, Jack­son, Johnathan Mot­ley (Bay­lor), Monte Mor­ris (Iowa State) and Jawun Evans (Ok­la­homa State).

Sec­ond-team­ers were Carter, Nazareth Mitrou-Long (Iowa State), Devonte Gra­ham (Kansas), Jef­frey Car­roll (Ok­la­homa State) and Vladimir Brodzian­sky (TCU).

On the third team with Allen were Le­comte, Deonte Bur­ton (Iowa State), Wes­ley Iwundu (Kansas State), Keenan Evans (Texas Tech) and Nathan Adrian (West Vir­ginia).

Re­ceiv­ing hon­or­able men­tion were Ish­mail Wain­right (Bay­lor), Matt Thomas (Iowa State), Lan­den Lucas (Kansas), D.J. John­son (Kansas State), Kameron McGusty (Ok­la­homa), Phil Forte (Ok­la­homa State), Jaylen Fisher (TCU), Ken­rich Williams (TCU) and Zach Smith (Texas Tech).

Texas (10-21, 4-14) will be­gin play in the Big 12 Tour­na­ment at 8:30 p.m. Wed­nes­day against No. 7 seed Texas Tech (18-13, 6-12) in Kansas City, Mo.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.