Bryant and Trout win base­ball’s MVP awards

Ori­oles’ Machado is fifth, Brit­ton 11th in AL vot­ing

Baltimore Sun - - MLB & ORIOLES - By Jay Co­hen Bal­ti­more Sun reporter Jon Me­oli con­trib­uted to this ar­ti­cle.

CHICAGO — While the Los An­ge­les An­gels stum­bled, Mike Trout soared again. Just too good to ig­nore. Trout won the American League Most Valu­able Player award Thurs­day for the sec­ond time in three years, and Chicago Cubs third base­man Kris Bryant was voted Na­tional League MVP in bal­lot­ing by the Base­ball Writ­ers’ Association of Amer­ica.

“To win it one time, it’s hard to do,” Trout said. “Twice, I guess you saw my emo­tions tonight; it was some­thing spe­cial.”

While the An­gels fin­ished fourth in the AL West, Trout was his usual bril­liant self. The cen­ter fielder hit .315 with 29 homers, 100 RBIs and 30 steals. He scored 17 per­cent of Los An­ge­les’ runs, the high­est per­cent­age in the AL since Rickey Hen­der­son with the 1985 New York Yan­kees.

Trout, who was a unan­i­mous win­ner in 2014, had fin­ished sec­ond in three of the past four years. He be­comes the first MVP from a los­ing team since Alex Rodriguez for the Texas Rangers in 2003 and just the fifth player ever to ac­com­plish the feat, join­ing Hall of Famers Ernie Banks (1958 and 1959), An­dre Daw­son (1987) and Cal Rip­ken Jr. (1991).

Bryant hit .292 with 39 homers and 102 RBIs in just his sec­ond year in the ma­jors, help­ing the Cubs to their first World Se­ries ti­tle since 1908. The No. 2 over­all pick from the 2013 draft be­comes just the sixth player to win rookie of the year and MVP in one or con­sec­u­tive sea­sons.

“This year has cer­tainly been one of the best years of my life,” said Bryant, who is set to get mar­ried in Jan­uary. “I mean win­ning a World Se­ries, now this. It’s just ic­ing on the cake.”

The Las Vegas na­tive is the first NL MVP from the Cubs since Sammy Sosa in 1998 and the eighth player from the club to win the award since 1935. The on­ce­for­lorn fran­chise en­joy­ing its best run in decades also had two of the top MVP can­di­dates, with first base­man An­thony Rizzo fin­ish­ing fourth.

Vot­ing by BBWAA mem­bers was com­pleted by the start of the play­offs.

Bryant was a run­away win­ner, with 29 of 30 first-place votes and 415 points. Wash­ing­ton Na­tion­als sec­ond base­man Daniel Mur­phy, who bat­ted .347 for the NL East cham­pi­ons, was the run­ner-up with the other first-place vote and 245 points. Los An­ge­les Dodgers short­stop Corey Sea­ger was third af­ter he was the unan­i­mous win­ner of the NL Rookie of the Year award Mon­day.

Bryant was the unan­i­mous NL Rookie of the Year af­ter he hit .275 with 26 homers and 99 RBIs last sea­son. Bryant joins Dustin Pe­droia (2007-2008), Ryan Howard (2005-2006) and Rip­ken (19821983) as the only play­ers to go Rookie of the Year-MVP in con­sec­u­tive sea­sons. Ichiro Suzuki (2001) and Fred Lynn (1975) are the only play­ers to win the awards in the same year.

Trout re­ceived 19 first-place votes and 356 points. Mookie Betts, who bat­ted .318 with 31 homers, 113 RBIs and 26 steals in 158 games for the Bos­ton Red Sox, was sec­ond with 311 points, and AL bat­ting cham­pion Jose Al­tuve of the Hous­ton Astros was third, fol­lowed by Toronto Blue Jays third base­man Josh Don­ald­son.

Ori­oles third base­man Manny Machado fin­ished fifth af­ter plac­ing fourth a sea­son ago. Machado, 23, who set ca­reer highs by bat­ting .294 with 37 home runs, 96 RBIs and an .876 OPS, was one of six play­ers listed on ev­ery bal­lot.

Re­tir­ing Red Sox slug­ger David Or­tiz, who got one first-place vote, fin­ished sixth in his fi­nal year in the ma­jors.

Ori­oles closer Zach Brit­ton fin­ished 11th, higher than any other pitcher. Brit­ton con­verted all 47 of his save op­por­tu­ni­ties and had a 0.54 ERA in 2016.


The Cubs’ Kris Bryant hit .292 with 39 homers in his sec­ond year in the ma­jors.


The An­gels’ Mike Trout hit .315 with 29 homers, 100 RBIs and 30 steals.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.