DAILY BRIDGE CLUB

Chicago Sun-Times - - WEATHER - BY FRANK STE­WART

“Your honor,” the dis­trict at­tor­ney stated, “we will prove that South com­mit­ted a felony. He lost a cold 3NT.”

“Pro­ceed,” the judge in­structed, and the court kib­itzed the ev­i­dence.

“When West led the king of di­a­monds,” the DA said, “South ducked twice, won the third di­a­mond and led the king of spades. West took the ace and re­turned a spade. De­clarer cashed three spades — East threw di­a­monds — and then the king, ace and queen of hearts. When West dis­carded, South lost a club fi­nesse with his queen and took only eight tricks.”

“My client’s play was fine,” South’s coun­sel roared. “He gave him­self two chances for the con­tract.”

Was South guilty?

Af­ter South takes his spade tricks, he should cash the A-Q of hearts and lead a third heart, play­ing his ten when East fol­lows low. As the cards lie, South wins four heart tricks and nine in all. If West took the jack of hearts, he would have only clubs left, and South would get a free fi­nesse and his ninth trick.

Daily ques­tion

You hold: ♠ A942 ♥ 76 ♦ KQJ ♣ K 10 4 2. The dealer, at your right, opens one heart. You dou­ble, and your part­ner jumps to two spades. What do you say?

An­swer: Part­ner’s jump-re­sponse in­vites game. His hand is worth about 10 points, and he may have only four spades. (He would need to jump to show a fair amount of strength; he would be obliged to re­spond cheaply with no strength at all.) Pass. You have noth­ing ex­tra for your dou­ble. South dealer

E-W vul­ner­a­ble

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.