El­lis Col­lege hon­ors out­stand­ing stu­dents

El Dorado News-Times - - In Our Schools -

ARKADEL­PHIA – Hen­der­son State Univer­sity’s Matt Locke El­lis Col­lege of Arts and Sciences hon­ored 59 stu­dents for their cre­ative and aca­demic ac­com­plish­ments at the an­nual Stu­dent Awards Cer­e­mony April 12 in the Gar­ri­son Cen­ter Lec­ture Hall.

Out­stand­ing Cre­ative Ac­com­plish­ment awards

Re­cip­i­ents of the Out­stand­ing Cre­ative Ac­com­plish­ment awards are se­lected based on artis­tic ac­com­plish­ment, re­search or ser­vice to oth­ers. Each depart­ment within the El­lis Col­lege se­lects a stu­dent to re­ceive the award. The 2018 re­cip­i­ents are: Brandon Rim­mer of Malvern, art; Allison Surf of Pearcy, bi­o­log­i­cal sciences; Daniel Gib­son of Bis­marck, chem­istry and bio­chem­istry; Jen­nings John­son of Heber Springs, com­mu­ni­ca­tions and the­atre arts; Celeste Fish­back of Ben­tonville, English, for­eign lan­guages and phi­los­o­phy; Raven Mor­ris of Texarkana, Texas, mu­sic; Des­tanie Nel­son of Arkadel­phia, psy­chol­ogy; and Lorena Slat­ton of Murfrees­boro, so­ci­ol­ogy, hu­man ser­vices, and crim­i­nal jus­tice.

Out­stand­ing Grad­u­at­ing Se­nior awards

Each depart­ment within the El­lis Col­lege se­lects one stu­dent from each ma­jor to re­ceive the Out­stand­ing Grad­u­at­ing Se­nior Award. The stu­dents must have a cu­mu­la­tive 3.00 GPA or higher and have ei­ther grad­u­ated in the fall se­mes­ter or be el­i­gi­ble to grad­u­ate in the spring se­mes­ter.

Awards were pre­sented to: Cather­ine Wa­chob of Hot Springs, art ed­u­ca­tion; Laiken Sor­rells of Amity, bi­o­log­i­cal sciences; Char­lie Clem of Texarkana, Texas, bio­chem­istry; Greta Goslee of Hot Springs, com­mu­ni­ca­tion; Jacey Rus­sell of Arkadel­phia, the­atre arts; LeighAnne Cowan of Hot Springs, English; Kayla Ann Kast­ner of Hot Springs, Span­ish; Hunter Pen­field of Arkadel­phia, com­puter sci­ence; Olivia Cathey of Ben­ton, mu­sic ed­u­ca­tion; Fred­ne­sha Whit­ing of North Lit­tle Rock, mu­sic; Har­lee Pen­ning­ton of Spark­man, nurs­ing; Jack­son Baber of Lit­tle Rock, physics; Ben John­son of Sa­pulpa, Ok­la­homa, en­gi­neer­ing physics; Ben­jamin East of LaPlace, Louisiana, psy­chol­ogy; Me­gan Jack­son of Ri­son, his­tory; Zoie Otwell of Prescott, pub­lic ad­min­is­tra­tion/ man­age­ment; Jared Payne of Bis­marck, po­lit­i­cal sci­ence; and Han­nah Wahls of Nashville, so­cial sci­ence ed­u­ca­tion.

Out­stand­ing Aca­demic Achieve­ment awards

The El­lis Col­lege rec­og­nizes up to 36 stu­dents for Out­stand­ing Aca­demic Achieve­ment Awards. Se­lected stu­dents have a min­i­mum GPA of 3.50. Other con­sid­er­a­tions might in­clude dif­fi­cul­ties over­come in main­tain­ing high aca­demic stan­dards, qual­ity of in­volve­ment in cam­pus ac­tiv­i­ties, lead­er­ship, and ser­vice to the univer­sity com­mu­nity.


Awards for Out­stand­ing Ju­nior Aca­demic Achieve­ment were pre­sented to: Erica Hamil­ton of Royal, art; Mercedes Thomp­son of Siloam Springs, bi­o­log­i­cal sciences; Pre­ston Strick­lin of Ben­ton, chem­istry and bio­chem­istry; Ja­cob Glas­gow of De Queen, com­mu­ni­ca­tions and the­atre arts; Kas­sady Chan­dler of Don­ald­son, English, for­eign lan­guages and phi­los­o­phy; Kayla Earnest of Malvern, math­e­mat­ics, com­puter sci­ence and statis­tics; Jor­dan Parker of Texarkana, Texas, mu­sic; Kayla Green of Smack­over, nurs­ing; Kat­lynn Williams of Arkadel­phia, psy­chol­ogy; Eric Brown of Glen­wood, so­cial sciences; and Kait­lyn Hall of Star City, so­ci­ol­ogy, hu­man ser­vices and crim­i­nal jus­tice.


Awards for Out­stand­ing Sopho­more Achieve­ment were pre­sented to: Sarah Ra­gan of Lib­erty, Mis­souri, art; Chloe Cline of Ben­ton, bi­o­log­i­cal sciences; Colten Smith of Texarkana, Texas, chem­istry and bio­chem­istry; Har­ley Whisen­hunt of Hot Springs, com­mu­ni­ca­tions and the­atre arts; Thomas Gei­gley of Hemp­stead, English, for­eign lan­guages and phi­los­o­phy; Bryan Neal of Ben­ton, math­e­mat­ics, com­puter sci­ence and statis­tics; Justin Kennedy of Lewisville, mu­sic; Olivia Kinder of Ben­ton, nurs­ing; Re­becca Voss of Arkadel­phia, en­gi­neer­ing and physics; Syd­ney Calvert of Cabot, psy­chol­ogy; Mia Sheets of Cabot, so­cial sciences; and Racheal Lewis, so­ci­ol­ogy, hu­man ser­vices and crim­i­nal jus­tice.


Re­cip­i­ents of the Fresh­man Aca­demic Achieve­ment awards are: Anissa Bur­ton of Siloam Springs, art; Keairra Jack­son of New Ed­in­burg, bi­o­log­i­cal sciences; Emily Har­ness of Cabot, chem­istry and bio­chem­istry; Tiara Burgess of Arkadel­phia, com­mu­ni­ca­tions and the­atre arts; Whit­ley Cross of El Do­rado, English, for­eign lan­guages and phi­los­o­phy; Parker Williams of Prescott, math­e­mat­ics, com­puter sci­ence and statis­tics; Kelly Foret of East Sheri­dan, mu­sic; Em­mery Boyd of Amity, nurs­ing; Thomas DePri­est III of Lake City, psy­chol­ogy; and Joseph Gate­ley of Green­wood, so­cial sciences.

Pho­tos by Cait­lan But­ler/News-Times

Repub­li­can club: State Sen. Trent Garner meets with the Teenage Repub­li­can club co-pres­i­dent Luke Alder­son. Garner met with stu­dents from the Teenage Repub­li­can group last Tues­day. Their dis­cus­sion ranged from the stu­dents’ fu­tures, Garner’s mil­i­tary...

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.