ERIC RYAN OLLY & METHOD

Af­ter 16 years as an en­tre­pre­neur, the co-founder of Method, Ryan, 44, is now CEO and co-founder of sup­ple­ments com­pany Olly, an op­er­at­ing part­ner at in­vest­ing firm En­core Con­sumer Cap­i­tal, and a sin­gle fa­ther. He’s also still in­volved in Method, the ecof

Inc. (USA) - - LAUNCH -

12-4 AM

Sleep.

4 AM

Two kids have found their way into my bed and are hog­ging the pil­low.

5-7AM

I set my clock for 5 but I’m not afraid to snooze, fol­lowed by a dose of re­gret for over­sleep­ing. I make cof­fee, and work un­til 7. This is my most pro­duc­tive time of the day, and I find I have the most clar­ity to tackle chal­leng­ing prob­lems. I try to use this time for high-level, mean­ing­ful work, such as a strat­egy for a new prod­uct or work­ing through a ma­jor re­tail pre­sen­ta­tion, ver­sus email or work­ing through a punch list. I set goals yearly, monthly, weekly, and daily. For yearly, they are struc­tured around health, wealth, and hap­pi­ness, and for weekly and daily, I use dig­i­tal stick­ies on my lap­top. Every morn­ing, I look at the punch list for the week and that day.

7AM

I wake my three kids to get them ready for school. The next 60 min­utes, we run the gaunt­let to get ev­ery­one out the door by 8. I’m a sin­gle dad, so I need to be well or­ga­nized to get ev­ery­one fed and dressed and their lunches made. I get clothes or­ga­nized the night be­fore, along with all back­packs, shoes, and lunch ma­te­ri­als. I have a fam­ily as­sis­tant who comes at 7:30 and will split school drop-offs with me, since the kids have to be at dif­fer­ent schools at the same time. We al­ter­nate drop-offs, which al­lows me to be with my daugh­ter every other day. On her day, we can walk the five min­utes to her school, which is our spe­cial time. Be­ing a sin­gle dad has brought sev­eral gifts, and one of them is bet­ter life bal­ance be­cause it cre­ates bet­ter dis­ci­pline. When I am with the kids, I am 100 per­cent fo­cused on them. I try to stay off my phone or lap­top around them. But when I am away from the kids, I work re­ally hard so I can be there for them when they are back.

8 AM

Once ev­ery­one is dropped off, at 8:30, I typ­i­cally call our head of sales dur­ing the drive to work. I’m for­tu­nate to live in Marin County, on the north side of the Golden Gate Bridge. Olly is head­quar­tered in the Pre­sidio, a na­tional park on the

south side of the bridge. Method is head­quar­tered down­town, which is a longer com­mute. I pur­posely chose the park for Olly’s lo­ca­tion, to gain life bal­ance.

9-11 AM

I typ­i­cally have meet­ings from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. I min­i­mize the num­ber of stand­ing weekly meet­ings, but every Thurs­day we al­ter­nate be­tween our lead­er­ship team meet­ing and our prod­uct in­no­va­tion meet­ing. I am very struc­tured about this Thurs­day meet­ing, with an agenda go­ing out a week in ad­vance, pre-reads, and clear goals for what we need to get done in two hours.

11AM

Walk­ing one-on-one meet­ing with our cre­ative di­rec­tor. Since we work in a park, I en­joy “walk and talks” and do about three of these a day. I can think bet­ter in mo­tion, and peo­ple are more open walk­ing in a park than they are sit­ting in a con­fer­ence room. It’s also in­cred­i­bly healthy to walk mul­ti­ple times a day ver­sus just sit­ting. I see this as a way of liv­ing the brand. We then head back to the stu­dio to re­view a new prod­uct con­cept that we are work­ing on for a visit from Tar­get next week. I work vis­ually, so we have all ma­jor de­vel­op­ment pro­jects built out on gi­ant white­boards. I be­lieve that if pro­jects are shared vis­ually, it helps peo­ple con­nect the dots on new ideas and feel more wel­come to build on those ideas and col­lab­o­rate.

12 PM

Re­cess! Part of our cul­ture is to never for­get that we work in a park. A rit­ual of our cul­ture is to reg­u­larly have re­cess, which any­one can ini­ti­ate and or­ga­nize. It’s ranged from yoga to kick­ball. On this par­tic­u­lar day, we play mu­si­cal chairs out­side on these gi­ant art in­stal­la­tion chairs the park re­cently set up. We grab sand­wiches on the way back.

1 PM

In­ter­view a can­di­date for a so­cial me­dia man­ager po­si­tion. Since Olly is quickly scal­ing, we are rapidly hir­ing. I al­ways take can­di­dates for a walk and find that it re­laxes them and they put their guard down, which tends to be a bet­ter in­ter­view. Every fi­nal­ist is ex­pected to present what we call “home­work,” and one of the ques­tions is “How will you help make life bet­ter in the park?” I ask can­di­dates about their per­sonal life and how they can con­trib­ute to our cul­ture. At 1:30, I have a quick check-in call with our Tar­get buyer to talk about his visit next week. As a founder, I feel my most im­por­tant role is to stay close to our re­tail­ers and work with them as thought part­ners. Since I didn’t know how to sell when I started Method, I treated re­tail­ers as clients, be­cause that is what I knew from ad­ver­tis­ing and it just stuck.

2 PM

If it’s a day I have the kids, I leave work at 2 and try to never miss a pickup or a drop-off for school. My ex­ec­u­tive as­sis­tant, Sea­son, will try to sched­ule a call dur­ing my 30-minute drive to the school so I can be pro­duc­tive. She does a great job of mon­i­tor­ing ev­ery­thing and “clear­ing the deck” so when I am with the kids, I can be fo­cused on them and not have to worry about work.

3 PM

I pick up the boys at 3 and run them home be­fore walk­ing up to get my daugh­ter at 3:30. My fam­ily as­sis­tant helps me jug­gle the kids’ be­ing in mul­ti­ple places, and most days af­ter school in­volve a lot of run­ning be­tween sports prac­tices, af­ter-school activities, play dates, and ap­point­ments, since I can’t phys­i­cally be in three places at once.

4 PM

My mid­dle child has a cod­ing class, which he loves, and the youngest has bas­ket­ball prac­tice, so my daugh­ter and I play a game out­side be­fore walk­ing to the cor­ner mar­ket to pick up a cou­ple of ex­tra things for din­ner.

5 PM

Home­work and get­ting ready for din­ner. The kids do a lit­tle in­de­pen­dent play­ing while I get din­ner on the ta­ble.

6 PM

Din­ner with the kids, and we tend to play a lot. On this evening, we play Uno, Magna-Tiles, and PingPong.

7PM

Fol­low­ing a lit­tle screen time, which helps me catch my breath, it’s time for fi­nal snacks, baths, and teeth brush­ing.

8 PM

Start get­ting ev­ery­one into bed. I ro­tate from room to room with the rit­ual of read­ing books fol­lowed by back rubs or spell­ing on their backs. I fin­ish with my daugh­ter by 9. Just when I think ev­ery­one is down, my youngest comes out say­ing he is hun­gry. He’s played this game be­fore.

9 PM

Af­ter fi­nally get­ting ev­ery­one down, I prep for the next day and put the house back to­gether. I jump on my lap­top to wrap up any­thing left on my to-do list, and re­set it for the next day.

10 PM

At 10:30, I jump into bed and read for 30 min­utes.

11 PM

Off to sleep, and if my mind is feel­ing rest­less, I’ll take an Olly Sleep.

WHAT THE COOL KIDS ARE READ­ING

Play time and read­ing with his chil­dren are a top pri­or­ity for Ryan on days when he has them with him. When they aren’t to­gether, he dou­bles down on work.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.