BRIDGE

Los Angeles Times - - COMICS - By Frank Stewart

Mil­lard Pringle played in a team game at my club to­day. He gets lost in the maze of de­fen­sive “rules.”

At both ta­bles, West led the queen of spades against four hearts. At one ta­ble, West con­tin­ued with the jack and a third spade. South ruffed and played care­fully: He took the K-Q of trumps next.

If trumps had split 3-2, South would have claimed. When West dis­carded, de­clarer started the di­a­monds. East ruffed the sec­ond diamond and led a club, but South took the ace, drew East’s last trump with the ace and fin­ished the di­a­monds to pitch his re­main­ing clubs. Mak­ing four.

Mil­lard was East at the other ta­ble, and at Trick Two West led the 10 of spades. When dummy played low, Mil­lard paused. He should have known West held the jack; South would have cov­ered the queen with the king if he had it. But “third hand high” won out: Mil­lard put up the ace!

Mil­lard then led a club, and South was doomed: He had to lose a club plus a trump.

Ques­tion: You hold: ♠ 53 ♥K Q 5 4 2 ♦ K 5 ♣ A Q 5 4. You open one heart, and your part­ner re­sponds two di­a­monds. The op­po­nents pass. What do you say?

An­swer: You must re­bid two hearts. In most part­ner­ships, this re­bid doesn’t prom­ise more than five hearts (as would a re­bid of two hearts af­ter a re­sponse of one spade). Your hand isn’t strong enough for a “high re­verse” to three clubs, nor is a bid of 2NT at­trac­tive with a weak spade hold­ing. North dealer Both sides vul­ner­a­ble

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.