Price, Hudler carry the night

Cana­di­ens goalie wins four ma­jor awards and Flames for­ward leaves his shoes be­hind.

Los Angeles Times - - SPORTS - By Lisa Dill­man lisa. dill­man@ latimes. com

LAS VE­GAS — Jiri Hudler did what most peo­ple want to do when they are wear­ing un­com­fort­able shoes at a for­mal event. He took them off. So what if he was at the NHL awards show on Wed­nes­day night? The Cal­gary Flames for­ward won the Lady Byng Tro­phy — given for sports­man­ship and gen­tle­manly play — and went on stage to ac­cept it.

“I have no shoes on … I’m sorry,” Hudler said. “Ve­gas, what a place.”

Mon­treal’s Carey Price may have owned the stage with his four tro­phy wins — in­clud­ing the Hart Me­mo­rial Tro­phy as the league’s most valu­able player and the Vez­ina Tro­phy, given to the NHL’s top goal­tender — but Hudler had the speech of the night.

Hudler sprin­kled in teas­ing ref­er­ences to Flames rookie Johnny Gau­dreau’s youth and a long list of cre­ative thank yous. Gau­dreau f in­ished third be­hind Florida’s Aaron Ek­blad and Mark Stone of Ot­tawa in the Calder Tro­phy vot­ing for rookie of the year.

Price also won the Ted Lind­say Award for most out­stand­ing player as se­lected by NHL play­ers and the Wil­liam M. Jen­nings Tro­phy for al­low­ing the fewest reg­u­lar- sea­son goals, along with Corey Craw­ford of Chicago.

The four tro­phies for Price matched Mon­treal leg­end Guy Lafleur’s four in 1977.

“It hasn’t re­ally sunk in yet,” Price said. “I’m just truly grate­ful just to be here. It’s been an amaz­ing ex­pe­ri­ence. This whole sea­son has been just amaz­ing.”

Other win­ners in­cluded Cal­gary Coach Bob Hart­ley for the Jack Adams Award, Bos­ton Bru­ins star Pa­trice Berg­eron for the Frank Selke Tro­phy ( top de­fen­sive for- ward), Ot­tawa Sen­a­tors de­fense­man Erik Karlsson for the Nor­ris Tro­phy, Steve Yz­er­man of Tampa Bay for gen­eral man­ager of the year, and Min­nesota goalie De­van Dub­nyk for the Bill Master­ton Award for per­se­ver­ance, sports­man­ship and ded­i­ca­tion to hockey.

Alex Ovechkin of Washington won the Rocket Richard Tro­phy as the league’s lead­ing goal- scorer, Jamie Benn of Dal­las won the Art Ross Tro­phy as the league’s points leader and Chicago cap­tain Jonathan Toews re­ceived the Mark Messier NHL lead­er­ship award.

Kings de­fense­man Drew Doughty, who fin­ished sec­ond in Nor­ris vot­ing, was named to the NHL’s All- Star sec­ond team. Kings cen­ter Anze Ko­pi­tar was third in both the Selke and Lady Byng vot­ing. Kings sus­pend Voynov

The Kings said that they have sus­pended de­fense­man Slava Voynov. It was largely a pre­emp­tive move, de­signed to give them more cap room in the sum­mer in case they need to deal with of­fer sheets for their younger play­ers. Voynov is due to go on trial in early July on a felony do­mes­tic vi­o­lence charge.

Chris O’Meara As­so­ci­ated Press

CAREY PRICE matched Mon­treal’s Guy Laf leur ( 1977) with four awards.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.