Nom­i­na­tions sought for Ex­cel­lence in Nurs­ing Awards

Modern Healthcare - - COMMENT -

Nom­i­na­tions are now be­ing ac­cepted for Mod­ern Health­care’s sec­ond an­nual Ex­cel­lence in Nurs­ing Awards.

Roughly 3 mil­lion nurses work through­out the health­care in­dus­try, in­clud­ing com­mu­nity hos­pi­tals, doc­tors’ of­fices, re­tail clin­ics, schools at all grade lev­els—and espe­cially in a grow­ing num­ber of C-suite po­si­tions at health sys­tems across the coun­try. Th­ese awards are de­signed to rec­og­nize their ex­ten­sive in­flu­ence. Once again, the pro­gram is be­ing con­ducted in part­ner­ship with the Lil­lian Carter Cen­ter for Global Health & So­cial Re­spon­si­bil­ity at the Emory Uni­ver­sity School of Nurs­ing in At­lanta.

Awards will be pre­sented in sev­eral cat­e­gories:

The Lil­lian Carter Ex­em­plary Acts in Nurs­ing Award: To honor a nurse or nurs­ing pro­gram that in the past two years has en­gaged in ex­tra­or­di­nary acts of pro­vid­ing health­care in ar­eas of spe­cial need, ei­ther do­mes­ti­cally or glob­ally. The award is named af­ter Pres­i­dent Jimmy Carter’s late mother, af­fec­tion­ately known as Miss Lil­lian, who worked as a nurse in com­mu­nity hos­pi­tals and nurs­ing homes be­fore, late in her ca­reer, join­ing the Peace Corps to ex­tend that ser­vice around the world.

■ Staff-level nurse: For floor or depart­ment lead­ers who have found the time to pro­vide in­spi­ra­tion and in­no­va­tion as they de­liver day-to-day care.

■ Se­nior-level nurse ad­min­is­tra­tors: For those who have de­vel­oped pro­grams or ini­tia­tives that im­prove the qual­ity of health­care de­liv­ery. New this year will be awards specif­i­cally for a chief nurs­ing of­fi­cer, chief nurs­ing in­for­mat­ics of­fi­cer and chief ex­pe­ri­ence of­fi­cer as well as an award in an “other ti­tles” cat­e­gory.

■ Also new this year will be three awards—gold, sil­ver and bronze for teams: To rec­og­nize team-based solu- tions/ap­proaches to im­prov­ing health­care de­liv­ery and through­put, boost­ing qual­ity or solv­ing pa­tient­care prob­lems. Nom­i­na­tions must be for teams of nurses or mul­ti­dis­ci­plinary teams led by a nurse or nurses. The teams can be in any sec­tor.

■ In ad­di­tion, a new Di­ver­sity in Nurs­ing Award will be pre­sented: To rec­og­nize a per­son or pro­gram for achieve­ment in ad­vanc­ing di­ver­sity— racial, eth­nic, gen­der or sex­ual ori­en­ta­tion—in the nurs­ing work­force, ei­ther within the nurse’s or­ga­ni­za­tion or the pro­fes­sion at large.

■ Spe­cial recog­ni­tion also will be given to five “Ris­ing Stars in Nurs­ing”: For ac­com­plished nurse lead­ers age 35 and un­der for their achieve­ments in the pro­fes­sion and at their or­ga­ni­za­tions very early in their ca­reers.

For more in­for­ma­tion on the cri­te­ria for each cat­e­gory—and to sub­mit a nom­i­na­tion—please visit mod­ern­health­­cel­len­cein­nurs­ing. The dead­line for nom­i­na­tions is Oct. 7. Win­ners will be an­nounced in the Jan. 16, 2017 is­sue.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.