Four fi­nal­ists set for Burlsworth Tro­phy to top col­lege walk-on

Texarkana Gazette - - SPORTS -

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark.—Four fi­nal­ists have been cho­sen for the Burlsworth Tro­phy awarded to col­lege foot­ball’s top player who be­gan his ca­reer as a walk-on.

Fi­nal­ists for the 8th an­nual Burlsworth Tro­phy in­clude Mem­phis wide re­ceiver An­thony Miller, Ok­la­homa quar­ter­back Baker May­field, Washington State quar­ter­back Luke Falk and Wis­con­sin Tight End Troy Fu­ma­galli.

May­field re­ceived the award in 2015 and 2016.

Fi­nal­ists were cho­sen from 63 nom­i­nees. CEO Marty Burlsworth says the se­lec­tion com­mit­tee’s vote ne­ces­si­tated bring­ing in a fourth fi­nal­ist this year for the first time.

The win­ner will be an­nounced Dec. 4.

The Burlsworth Award is named af­ter for­mer Arkansas of­fen­sive line­man Bran­don Burlsworth, who worked his way from walk-on to All-Amer­i­can be­fore be­ing drafted by the In­di­anapo­lis Colts in 1999.

He was killed in a car ac­ci­dent 11 days later.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.